SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > LAN & WAN > MoCA, HomePlug, HPNA

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-21-2013, 03:30 AM
Kusuri Kusuri is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 11
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Kusuri is just starting out
Default Losing connection on HomePlug: Reboot either Homeplug or Router solves - Whose fault?

I have a homeplug (Asus PL-X32) set downstairs next to the main router and a 2nd one set upstairs to connect a PC to the internet.

Lately I've been having permanent drops roughly every 1 or 2 days only on the connection at the PC upstairs.
The PC downstairs connected directly to the main router can still use the Internet without problems.

The connection problem upstairs can only be resolved after either unplugging/replugging the homeplug there from the power or rebooting the main router downstairs. Unplugging/replugging any ethernet connections on either PC/homeplug/router makes no difference. Unplugging/replugging power of the homeplug downstairs also made no difference.

This is strange and doesn't make much sense to me, so I can't figure out what's at fault here.
Is it the HomePlug or could it be the Router? There's nothing in the router's log that can be of help and I don't have a different router or homeplug for testing.

Can it still be the Homeplug at fault even if rebooting the router is one of the methods that solves it? Anyone who knows well how the communication between a homeplug and routers work that could chime in on this? The best I could think of to do now was to switch places with the homeplugs and wait.

The router is still pretty new and in warranty (2 months left before it expires) which is why this is important for me.
Meanwhile I'm waiting for Asus to release the new PL-X52 homeplug as soon as possible...

Last edited by Kusuri; 01-21-2013 at 05:53 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-21-2013, 10:27 AM
thiggins's Avatar
thiggins thiggins is offline
Mr. Easy
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 9,247
Thanks: 166
Thanked 640 Times in 544 Posts
thiggins is just starting out
Default

It is probably the homeplug adapters, especially if they run hot. Trying to swap the adapter positions would at least let you narrow the problem down to a single adapter.

When the PC upstairs loses its connection, check whether it still has valid IP address information.
__________________
Tim Higgins
Managing Editor,SmallNetBuilder.com
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to thiggins For This Useful Post:
  #3  
Old 01-21-2013, 10:45 AM
Kusuri Kusuri is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 11
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Kusuri is just starting out
Default

Thanks for the tip. I'll make sure to try that the next time it goes down.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:10 PM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  392
azazel1024  126
L&LD  117
htismaqe  96
john9527  96
stevech  83
ColinTaylor  77
hggomes  54
sfx2000  51
Anzaia  47
RMerlin  6293
john9527  462
stevech  353
ryzhov_al  290
TeHashX  253
L&LD  243
RogerSC  204
sinshiva  146
sfx2000  136
joegreat  127
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  58236
Old RT-AC68 -...  25403
Old Moderate Nat...  5510
Old ASUS RT-N66U...  5039
Old iOS 8.1...  4253
Old RT-AC87U -...  2823
Old New AC68...  2421
Old RT-AC68P QOS...  2301
Old AC68U,...  2143
Old Ruckus...  1932
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  253
Old RT-AC68 -...  141
Old Review: 24...  35
Old Moderate Nat...  34
Old iOS 8.1...  33
Old RT-AC87U -...  26
Old RT-AC68P QOS...  24
Old How to flash...  24
Old Help Plz:...  21
Old Linksys...  21


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.