SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > ASUS AC Routers & Adapters

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-22-2013, 01:24 PM
jlamb1051 jlamb1051 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
jlamb1051 is just starting out
Default DDNS and dyndns

I have an rt-ac66r (retail version of U). I am using a free dyndns account as my ddns. After looking at the forums, it seems that this router does not automatically update the dyndns service on a regular interval (it only updates on reboot or wan ip change). As you may know, dyndns free accounts expire after 30 days of no account activity and if i have no reboot or ip change in 30days my account is terminated. First, am I wrong in my understanding of the router's updating ability? If it does not update regularly, are there any ways to initiate an update interval so I dont encounter any dyndns service interruptions?

Another option is to use ASUS ddns service... How reliable is this service? Do they have any account termination issue like dyndns?

Thank you in advance for any info you can provide...

JL
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-22-2013, 02:55 PM
Nerre Nerre is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 301
Thanks: 0
Thanked 32 Times in 30 Posts
Nerre is just starting out
Default

If I don't recall wrong there's a topic somewhere in the forums covering how to set up a cron job to do the update. But I might be mixing things up.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-22-2013, 08:27 PM
LoneWolf's Avatar
LoneWolf LoneWolf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 36
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
LoneWolf is just starting out
Default

That seems odd to me. By the very nature of Dynamic DNS, updates would need to happen periodically in the event that your DHCP-assigned WAN IP changed. If updates didn't happen and the IP changed, DDNS would be worthless.
__________________
Moto SB6120, ASUS RT-AC66R, NG ProSafe gig switches, Buffalo WLI-H4-D1300 802.11AC bridge
HP MicroServer Gen8 WS 2012R2
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-22-2013, 11:25 PM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 9,553
Thanks: 47
Thanked 5,091 Times in 2,156 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LoneWolf View Post
That seems odd to me. By the very nature of Dynamic DNS, updates would need to happen periodically in the event that your DHCP-assigned WAN IP changed. If updates didn't happen and the IP changed, DDNS would be worthless.
Asus implemented DDNS so it will only update the DDNS whenever the WAN interface changes state, or gets a new lease. The problem is they didn't take into account the fact that some DDNS services require at least one update per month to confirm that your account is still active, so if there is no change in your WAN state during that month, the DDNS won't contact the provider at all.
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-25-2013, 12:23 AM
scottegos2 scottegos2 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 29
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
scottegos2 is just starting out
Default

By coincidence, I got the same notice from dyndns.org today. I didn't see any clear way to force the update manually (or from crontab) -- the one related thread I found wasn't especially helpful. OK, I can run the dyndns updater on my htpc, but that seems like a copout. This feature should be possible on the router.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-25-2013, 01:12 AM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 9,553
Thanks: 47
Thanked 5,091 Times in 2,156 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

Eventually I'll see if I can implement a cron job that will force an update after 25 days of uptime without reboot or WAN change.
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-25-2013, 01:44 PM
DeadHead DeadHead is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
DeadHead is just starting out
Default

My old D-Link DGL-4300 always updated this by itself, so would be nice to have the same functionality with this router as well. Seems pretty basic to me, so I hope they'll implement it soon.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-25-2013, 06:23 PM
LoneWolf's Avatar
LoneWolf LoneWolf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 36
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
LoneWolf is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RMerlin View Post
Asus implemented DDNS so it will only update the DDNS whenever the WAN interface changes state, or gets a new lease. The problem is they didn't take into account the fact that some DDNS services require at least one update per month to confirm that your account is still active, so if there is no change in your WAN state during that month, the DDNS won't contact the provider at all.
I wish I'd known that a month ago.

My ASUS router continues to seem like amazing hardware hampered by a small handful of really dumb software decisions where the firmware is concerned.
__________________
Moto SB6120, ASUS RT-AC66R, NG ProSafe gig switches, Buffalo WLI-H4-D1300 802.11AC bridge
HP MicroServer Gen8 WS 2012R2
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-25-2013, 09:14 PM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 9,553
Thanks: 47
Thanked 5,091 Times in 2,156 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LoneWolf View Post
I wish I'd known that a month ago.

My ASUS router continues to seem like amazing hardware hampered by a small handful of really dumb software decisions where the firmware is concerned.
Nothing serious that cannot be worked around through a simple cron job tho (just need custom firmware to do that).
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:22 AM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  348
sm00thpapa  230
stevech  187
azazel1024  155
KGB7  139
jim769  88
philmiami  85
htismaqe  81
AcostaJA  69
ColinTaylor  58
RMerlin  5090
stevech  315
ryzhov_al  254
TeHashX  209
RogerSC  187
L&LD  186
joegreat  123
jlake  122
sinshiva  112
sfx2000  111
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old ASUS RT-N66U...  24254
Old NETGEAR...  13151
Old Switched...  8107
Old NEW RT-AC68R...  6891
Old 3.0.0.4.376.1...  6819
Old ASUS...  6229
Old ASUS RTAC68U...  3606
Old ASUS...  3422
Old Netgear...  3418
Old N66U daily...  2894
Old ASUS RT-N66U...  169
Old NETGEAR...  161
Old Switched...  66
Old NEW RT-AC68R...  56
Old ASUS...  51
Old N66U daily...  47
Old ASUS...  43
Old Netgear...  41
Old ASUS RTAC68U...  41
Old Which router...  41


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.