SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > Asuswrt-Merlin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-08-2013, 05:35 PM
jsmiddleton4 jsmiddleton4 is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 236
Thanks: 14
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
jsmiddleton4 is just starting out
Default

"the stakes are high"

Really? A 130 dollar routers is "high stakes"?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-08-2013, 05:55 PM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 10,743
Thanks: 55
Thanked 6,020 Times in 2,448 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jsmiddleton4 View Post
"the stakes are high"

Really? A 130 dollar routers is "high stakes"?
Try having no Internet access in a house with a few kids for more than 24 hours.
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to RMerlin For This Useful Post:
  #13  
Old 01-08-2013, 07:12 PM
edsyl edsyl is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 22
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
edsyl is just starting out
Default

Above and Beyond the Call of Duty....LOL


Or is that NO Call of Duty

Regards
ED
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-08-2013, 07:13 PM
edsyl edsyl is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 22
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
edsyl is just starting out
Default

So if this 64K CFE is so fraught with bricking, why even bother, I still do not understand the advantages of this larger CFE?
Regards
Ed
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-08-2013, 07:28 PM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 10,743
Thanks: 55
Thanked 6,020 Times in 2,448 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by edsyl View Post
So if this 64K CFE is so fraught with bricking, why even bother, I still do not understand the advantages of this larger CFE?
Regards
Ed
Some people are running DD-WRT, which makes it pretty much essential to be able to do so.

There are also people who did it because they just like tinkering, and considered it a learning experience.
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-08-2013, 07:57 PM
mromero mromero is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 76
Thanks: 47
Thanked 8 Times in 5 Posts
mromero is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by edsyl View Post
Thanks to all for replying. Very helpful.

It is still not clear to me just WHAT having the CFE 64K 'enabled' (not even sure that is the appropriate adjective) does for me. That is the missing piece.
So essentially it comes down to feature sets of ASUS, Merlin, and DD-WRT?
If I want dd-wrt then I will need to use the 64K CFE updated to be able to install the build that need it?

Regards
Ed
I would say that fixing your modem's CFE is to make it be the way it was designed to be - having 64K NVRAM addressable by any firmware, be it DDWRT, Tomato, Asus and Merlin's version of Asus.

The latest Asus / Merlin / Tomato are hacked to make the software see the 64K NVRAM you paid for.

Using current or older DDWRT a router that has not had its CFE "fixed" will lead to problems.

Some folks like myself do not want to be trying to remember if the CFE on this or that modem is OK - fix it now to avoid any potential problems down the road.

For most people, leaving the router with the old CFE will not pose any problem so long as they use stock ASUS or Merlin's version. I do not want to have an oddball router in my stock ;o)

Last edited by mromero; 01-08-2013 at 07:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-08-2013, 08:34 PM
jsmiddleton4 jsmiddleton4 is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 236
Thanks: 14
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
jsmiddleton4 is just starting out
Default

So at this point with the group of people who would consider updating the CFE and have been updating the firmware to any number of variations, that group of people doesn't have more than one router laying around?

Updating the CFE is not that big a deal and the steps are so spelled out clearly that it is not big a deal nor is it that risky.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-08-2013, 10:10 PM
edsyl edsyl is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 22
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
edsyl is just starting out
Default

Thanks all!
REgards
Ed
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-08-2013, 11:38 PM
RogerSC RogerSC is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,395
Thanks: 21
Thanked 199 Times in 176 Posts
RogerSC is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jsmiddleton4 View Post
"the stakes are high"

Really? A 130 dollar routers is "high stakes"?
Personally, I hate having to throw away a nice router that's working really well and cost me $170 (plus tax *smile*). I took that risk when I upgraded, but I've been working with hardware and software for a LOT of years and knew where the risks were before I started.

You can sneer about your $130 if you want, that's up to you. I get attached to things that work well and hate to see them go because of my mistake(s).
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-09-2013, 09:37 AM
jsmiddleton4 jsmiddleton4 is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 236
Thanks: 14
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
jsmiddleton4 is just starting out
Default

So that's how you frame it Roger. Either its "high stakes" or I'm "snearing"?

Wow.

As mromero pointed out in the thread about updating the CFE it is simple. It is simple because the work others have done to make it such.

The process has been over dramatized by yourself.

Do or do not update the CFE. It doesn't matter to me.

However the process and steps are not difficult and if I can follow them and succeed, pert near everyone can.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:04 AM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  365
john9527  148
azazel1024  134
stevech  117
htismaqe  99
L&LD  97
sfx2000  77
TonyH  71
AndreyPopov  56
ChristineBCW  53
RMerlin  6019
john9527  374
stevech  349
ryzhov_al  278
TeHashX  233
L&LD  231
RogerSC  199
sinshiva  147
sfx2000  133
joegreat  126
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Shellshock...  27557
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  11811
Old Antenna...  3964
Old Simple NAS...  2420
Old Brainstorming...  2222
Old Looking for...  1994
Old RT-AC68P  1910
Old Advice on...  1672
Old RT-AC68U...  1409
Old Asus...  1349
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  98
Old Antenna...  73
Old Advice on...  47
Old Brainstorming...  47
Old Simple NAS...  36
Old Looking for...  35
Old Shellshock...  31
Old Stable...  25
Old Issues...  24
Old WiFi Rates  23


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.