SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > Asuswrt-Merlin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-28-2013, 12:21 AM
Pokey Pokey is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Pokey is just starting out
Smile Asuswrt-Merlin questions and possible feature

I've been using my new AC66U with Asuswrt-Merlin and have been very happy with it's performance over my old and tired Linksys G router.

I wanted to double check that when one of the radios is disabled does that keep that radio's chip in a sleep state or low power state? I don't have any 5GHz devices so to keep the AC66U cool i disabled the 5GHz radio. The tools page doesn't show the 5GHz radio temperature so I figured it is in a sleep or low power state. My AC66U is sitting on a 15" laptop cooler that has dropped the 2.4GHz radio temperature to 43C where as without it it would run ~54C. And the ambient in the house is 20C. I'm hoping this setup keeps the router cool and helps it last longer than the dlinks and linksys routers i've used in the past.

And would it be possible for the router firmware to pickup USB HDD temperatures ie through SMART to display the drive temperature on the tools page or USB application page?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-28-2013, 12:24 AM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 12,168
Thanks: 66
Thanked 6,943 Times in 2,817 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pokey View Post
And would it be possible for the router firmware to pickup USB HDD temperatures ie through SMART to display the drive temperature on the tools page or USB application page?
SMART isn't generally available for USB devices, except for a few that hack it in their controler.
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to RMerlin For This Useful Post:
  #3  
Old 01-28-2013, 12:27 AM
Pokey Pokey is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Pokey is just starting out
Default

Thanks RMerlin,

I figured I'd ask just in case. At least I know the router is running cool.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-24-2014, 03:47 PM
noric noric is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 144
Thanks: 40
Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
noric is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RMerlin View Post
SMART isn't generally available for USB devices, except for a few that hack it in their controler.
Well, I have a few external drives that I can view smart values from. Do you think it would be possible to add "smartctl" command in the future?
Thanks RMerlin.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-24-2014, 05:30 PM
ColinTaylor ColinTaylor is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 533
Thanks: 29
Thanked 134 Times in 121 Posts
ColinTaylor is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by noric View Post
Well, I have a few external drives that I can view smart values from. Do you think it would be possible to add "smartctl" command in the future?
I think it is already available through entware.
__________________
Asus RT-N66U 374.43
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ColinTaylor For This Useful Post:
  #6  
Old 08-24-2014, 06:15 PM
noric noric is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 144
Thanks: 40
Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
noric is just starting out
Default

Yes, you're right!
In case anyone wants more insight about how to do it, open telnet and type:
Code:
opkg update
opkg install smartmontools
Now you have installed smartctl. To use it type:
Code:
smartctl -a /dev/sda
If it tells you something about smart not being available, try:
Code:
smartctl -d ata /dev/sda
and then "smartctl -a /dev/sda" should work.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
asuswrt-merlin, disable, radio, temperature, usb hdd

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:06 AM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  529
john9527  189
System Error...  167
huotg01  166
stevech  149
L&LD  142
jegesq  131
azazel1024  89
hggomes  88
RussellInCinc...  71
RMerlin  6942
john9527  664
stevech  375
ryzhov_al  311
L&LD  275
TeHashX  271
RogerSC  211
hggomes  174
sinshiva  156
sfx2000  145
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  43263
Old SECURITY:...  18651
Old ASUS...  10887
Old ASUS...  8076
Old Asus...  4102
Old choose a new...  3445
Old Bulding...  2329
Old Horrible...  2149
Old What is dual...  1846
Old Upgraded to...  1789
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  336
Old Asus...  95
Old SECURITY:...  74
Old choose a new...  73
Old ASUS...  59
Old What is dual...  44
Old ASUS...  43
Old Can you help...  40
Old How to build...  32
Old Using a UPS...  30


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2015 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.