SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > Asuswrt-Merlin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-07-2013, 04:36 PM
bigcid10's Avatar
bigcid10 bigcid10 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: West Palm Beach,Florida,US
Posts: 89
Thanks: 31
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
bigcid10 is just starting out
Default openssl

I doing this on the fly because I'm really unsure about what I'm doing
I'm trying to setup this openvpn client on my router so here's my problem so far
I got the openvpn client for windows
but it didn't come with easy-rsa so I hunted that down
and followed the readme
but when I got to the command "build-ca" it said that openssl was reconized as
a command of that sort
can some give me a simpler walkthrough or give me some direction
thank you
__________________
Dlink R7000
1.0.3.61_20140623_ddns_fix
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-07-2013, 05:06 PM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is online now
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 10,782
Thanks: 55
Thanked 6,034 Times in 2,458 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

EasyRSA is available on the router itself, so you can generate everything through ssh/telnet on the router:

https://github.com/RMerl/asuswrt-mer...using-Easy-RSA
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-07-2013, 06:20 PM
bigcid10's Avatar
bigcid10 bigcid10 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: West Palm Beach,Florida,US
Posts: 89
Thanks: 31
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
bigcid10 is just starting out
Default

I try and run the command "setuprsa.sh /mnt/sdb1"
and it gives me the error " cp: can't preserve permissions of '/mnt/sdb1/easy-rsa/sign-req': Operation not permitted " and won't copy the files to the flash drive
also every time it tries to write the crt an key info on the flash drive it say "Using configuration from /mnt/sdb1/easy-rsa/openssl-1.0.0.cnf
/mnt/sdb1/easy-rsa/keys/index.txt: No such file or directory
unable to open '/mnt/sdb1/easy-rsa/keys/index.txt' "
thanks
__________________
Dlink R7000
1.0.3.61_20140623_ddns_fix

Last edited by bigcid10; 01-07-2013 at 08:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-07-2013, 08:50 PM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is online now
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 10,782
Thanks: 55
Thanked 6,034 Times in 2,458 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigcid10 View Post
I try and run the command "setuprsa.sh /mnt/sdb1"
and it gives me the error " cp: can't preserve permissions of '/mnt/sdb1/easy-rsa/sign-req': Operation not permitted " and won't copy the files to the flash drive
also every time it tries to write the crt an key info on the flash drive it say "Using configuration from /mnt/sdb1/easy-rsa/openssl-1.0.0.cnf
/mnt/sdb1/easy-rsa/keys/index.txt: No such file or directory
unable to open '/mnt/sdb1/easy-rsa/keys/index.txt' "
thanks
Probably means that your disk isn't formatted as ext2/ext3. In that case create a directory inside /tmp, and do everything from that directory. Once done, copy the resulting files to your USB disk.
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-08-2013, 12:06 PM
bigcid10's Avatar
bigcid10 bigcid10 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: West Palm Beach,Florida,US
Posts: 89
Thanks: 31
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
bigcid10 is just starting out
Default

ok,it was formatted in fat
I 'll reformat and try it again
I have a Linux laptop ,I'll do it on that
__________________
Dlink R7000
1.0.3.61_20140623_ddns_fix
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-08-2013, 08:07 PM
bigcid10's Avatar
bigcid10 bigcid10 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: West Palm Beach,Florida,US
Posts: 89
Thanks: 31
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
bigcid10 is just starting out
Default

is ext4 ok?
when I did that the drive in the router says unmounted
__________________
Dlink R7000
1.0.3.61_20140623_ddns_fix
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-09-2013, 12:05 AM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is online now
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 10,782
Thanks: 55
Thanked 6,034 Times in 2,458 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigcid10 View Post
is ext4 ok?
when I did that the drive in the router says unmounted
Ext4 is not supported. The kernel used by this router is too old.
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-09-2013, 09:37 PM
bigcid10's Avatar
bigcid10 bigcid10 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: West Palm Beach,Florida,US
Posts: 89
Thanks: 31
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
bigcid10 is just starting out
Default

how can I reformat it into ext3
my linux laptop doesn't give me an otion for ext3
only linux swap,linux,or ext4
thanks
__________________
Dlink R7000
1.0.3.61_20140623_ddns_fix
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-10-2013, 01:28 AM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is online now
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 10,782
Thanks: 55
Thanked 6,034 Times in 2,458 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigcid10 View Post
how can I reformat it into ext3
my linux laptop doesn't give me an otion for ext3
only linux swap,linux,or ext4
thanks
"mkfs -t ext3 /dev/sdxx" through a terminal session.
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-10-2013, 01:39 PM
bigcid10's Avatar
bigcid10 bigcid10 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: West Palm Beach,Florida,US
Posts: 89
Thanks: 31
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
bigcid10 is just starting out
Default

OK,I got the server up and running on the router(yea!)
but now I can't figure out to get the client key and profile setup on either my android or my pc(win8)
thanks for your patience
__________________
Dlink R7000
1.0.3.61_20140623_ddns_fix
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:08 AM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  367
john9527  156
azazel1024  108
htismaqe  96
stevech  95
sfx2000  74
L&LD  63
TonyH  58
ColinTaylor  56
AndreyPopov  53
RMerlin  6033
john9527  378
stevech  350
ryzhov_al  279
TeHashX  236
L&LD  232
RogerSC  199
sinshiva  147
sfx2000  133
joegreat  126
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  17222
Old Brainstorming...  2389
Old RT-AC68P  2343
Old Advice on...  2202
Old Looking for...  2161
Old RT-AC68U...  1573
Old Asus...  1559
Old Issues...  1480
Old AC-68...  1409
Old Stable...  1276
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  129
Old Advice on...  49
Old Brainstorming...  47
Old Looking for...  35
Old Issues...  25
Old Stable...  25
Old WiFi Rates  23
Old RT-AC68U...  22
Old Belkin Pre-N...  21
Old Network...  18


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.