SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > LAN & WAN > MoCA, HomePlug, HPNA

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-21-2013, 02:30 AM
Kusuri Kusuri is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 11
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Kusuri is just starting out
Default Losing connection on HomePlug: Reboot either Homeplug or Router solves - Whose fault?

I have a homeplug (Asus PL-X32) set downstairs next to the main router and a 2nd one set upstairs to connect a PC to the internet.

Lately I've been having permanent drops roughly every 1 or 2 days only on the connection at the PC upstairs.
The PC downstairs connected directly to the main router can still use the Internet without problems.

The connection problem upstairs can only be resolved after either unplugging/replugging the homeplug there from the power or rebooting the main router downstairs. Unplugging/replugging any ethernet connections on either PC/homeplug/router makes no difference. Unplugging/replugging power of the homeplug downstairs also made no difference.

This is strange and doesn't make much sense to me, so I can't figure out what's at fault here.
Is it the HomePlug or could it be the Router? There's nothing in the router's log that can be of help and I don't have a different router or homeplug for testing.

Can it still be the Homeplug at fault even if rebooting the router is one of the methods that solves it? Anyone who knows well how the communication between a homeplug and routers work that could chime in on this? The best I could think of to do now was to switch places with the homeplugs and wait.

The router is still pretty new and in warranty (2 months left before it expires) which is why this is important for me.
Meanwhile I'm waiting for Asus to release the new PL-X52 homeplug as soon as possible...

Last edited by Kusuri; 01-21-2013 at 04:53 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-21-2013, 09:27 AM
thiggins's Avatar
thiggins thiggins is offline
Mr. Easy
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 9,011
Thanks: 151
Thanked 593 Times in 500 Posts
thiggins is just starting out
Default

It is probably the homeplug adapters, especially if they run hot. Trying to swap the adapter positions would at least let you narrow the problem down to a single adapter.

When the PC upstairs loses its connection, check whether it still has valid IP address information.
__________________
Tim Higgins
Managing Editor,SmallNetBuilder.com
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to thiggins For This Useful Post:
  #3  
Old 01-21-2013, 09:45 AM
Kusuri Kusuri is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 11
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Kusuri is just starting out
Default

Thanks for the tip. I'll make sure to try that the next time it goes down.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:43 AM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  366
stevech  157
KGB7  119
Kel-L  102
sfx2000  98
azazel1024  93
sinshiva  83
john9527  81
fistv  70
F5ing  68
RMerlin  5600
stevech  329
ryzhov_al  266
TeHashX  217
L&LD  192
RogerSC  190
sinshiva  143
joegreat  127
jlake  122
sfx2000  121
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  78205
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  47136
Old [Fork]...  20257
Old Asus locking...  10363
Old ASUS...  8338
Old Incoming...  8043
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  3403
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  3041
Old Thinking of...  2197
Old Any reason...  1981
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  393
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  215
Old [Fork]...  136
Old Asus locking...  125
Old Connection...  55
Old [HOW TO]...  50
Old ASUS...  50
Old Incoming...  44
Old 376.44 -...  40
Old Use the same...  35


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.