SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > ASUS N Routers & Adapters

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-22-2013, 03:50 PM
Dazman Dazman is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Dazman is just starting out
Default Problems with 5Ghz

So far the 2.4Ghz is rock solid, but the 5Ghz loses connection now and then. I thought it was just my iphone until my laptop refused to connect. Even after multiple reboots it wouldn't connect so I updated to Merlin's latest firmware. Fingers crossed.

Anyone else have issues with the 5Ghz band?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-22-2013, 04:28 PM
Pierino Pierino is online now
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 263
Thanks: 47
Thanked 35 Times in 25 Posts
Pierino is just starting out
Default

No, works fine for me. I use channel 161 here in the US of A.
__________________
Rt-ac68u on Asuswrt-Merlin fw
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-22-2013, 04:47 PM
squigish squigish is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
squigish is just starting out
Default

Yes, I have had intermittent problems with my 5GHz network, both on the RT-N66U and the RT-N56U. I suspect the cause is the fact that 5GHz radio signals are more easily blocked by obstacles like walls than 2.4GHz signals. That comes from the physics of radio propagation, and there's nothing anybody can do about it.

However, I have not extensively troubleshooted it, and it may in fact be a bug. As far as I recall, I have never had trouble connecting to 5GHz while in the same room as the router. I'm running the stock ASUS firmware, although will be upgrading to merlin soon.

The workaround for me is to just connect my 5GHz devices first to the 2.4GHz network, and then to the 5GHz network. That way, it gives the 5GHz network priority, but is still able to seamlessly fall back to the 2.4GHz network.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-22-2013, 05:57 PM
KevTech KevTech is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 188
Thanks: 2
Thanked 38 Times in 31 Posts
KevTech is just starting out
Default

I have found some devices would not connect unless I chose a lower channel.

Channel 36 gives me the best performance.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:35 PM.

Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  339
stevech  157
thelonelycode...  157
L&LD  138
azazel1024  116
Adamm  70
KGB7  67
speedingcheet...  59
jim769  58
sm00thpapa  53
RMerlin  4384
stevech  271
ryzhov_al  199
TeHashX  191
RogerSC  165
L&LD  163
joegreat  104
jlake  98
PrivateJoker  93
sinshiva  85
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  23207
Old ASUS...  17578
Old Beta Version...  17092
Old 'Heartbleed'...  12852
Old Potential...  7596
Old Linksys...  6107
Old Asus-Merlin...  6090
Old Groundhog...  6040
Old Linksys...  4530
Old Any AC68U...  2581
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  188
Old Linksys...  130
Old Beta Version...  112
Old ASUS...  102
Old Potential...  98
Old Linksys...  57
Old Groundhog...  49
Old Asus router...  43
Old New Home...  37
Old Asus-Merlin...  36



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.