SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > ASUS N Routers & Adapters

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 02-14-2013, 03:36 AM
fred fred is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 13
Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
fred is just starting out
Default

Hi bagman
I disconnected the Asus last Saturday as per suggestions from the Virginmedia support forums to test out if teh Superhub was causing any problems and there has been alot of buffering occuring on Youtube on certain nights around 8pm.
I will reconnect the Asus router this weekend and try out your suggestion and see how things go.
If anything the buffering has been worse whilst using the Superhub on its own despite changing channel frequencies and jumping between 2.4 and 5ghz. I even set up a Thinkbroadband graph. Here is a snapshot of my network activity:
http://www.thinkbroadband.com/ping/s...4-02-2013.html
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 02-14-2013, 05:23 AM
Bagman's Avatar
Bagman Bagman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 70
Thanks: 21
Thanked 20 Times in 14 Posts
Bagman is just starting out
Default

As I said in my previous post, the problem isn't with the router, the problem is oversubscription at VM, which shows itself at peak times. If you are really unlucky, you are on an overutilised UBR that is simply stuffed to capacity and cannot carry the required traffic at peak hours.

Nothing that you do with the router will fix that. All you can do is complain to VM and wait for them to fix it. You might as well put the Superhub back into modem mode and reconnect the RT-N66U, as it is a much better piece of kit, especially with regards to wireless range and performance.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 02-14-2013, 02:43 PM
fred fred is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 13
Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
fred is just starting out
Default

Hi Bagman
I have now put the Superhub back in modem mode and reconnected the Asus. I sure missed using that router!! I will monitor the Youtube buffering again and see how it goes this week. I strongly suspect that you are correct in your opinion that it is indeed Virginmedia to blame.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 02-16-2013, 11:42 AM
EskimoDragon EskimoDragon is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
EskimoDragon is just starting out
Default

I too have been having buffering issues with Youtube for some time now. I'm on Brighthouse Networks in Orlando. In the past this was due to using the ISP's DNS servers and I switched to other servers based on GRC's DNS Benchmark app. That helped clear it up for me on other routers I've used in the past (including my beloved RT-N16).

However, since moving into our new house and Brighthouse Service becoming available here, I upgraded my router to the N66U and have never been able to get Youtube to consistently buffer without issues.

One thing that's confused me on this router is the DNS options in the LAN vs the WAN...which one would I set if I wanted to set my own DNS server addresses. Will one conflict with the other if both set? In Tomato on the N16 there was only one place to put in three DNS ip addresses. I really could use some help on what the LAN vs WAN DNS settings mean. I've not found something concise in my searches so far.

Even though I've tried many different configurations between setting my own DNS to leaving all options blank, nothing seems to have helped keep buffering from happening. Occasionally, videos seem to load fine, but most times not. I have the 40 down 5 up service and speedtests are always usually 45/6 at many different sites. Pingtest.net results are great too.

I never have any problems with Netflix or any other services...just Youtube it seems. Thanks for the help.


Edit for clarification:
The reason I get confused with these settings is because when I leave LAN blank and only set WAN DNS then my devices report my DNS as being 192.168.1.1 but I assumed WAN DNS should be the one I set. On Tomato on the RT-N16 I always saw the 3 different DNS servers that I set myself.

Last edited by EskimoDragon; 02-16-2013 at 12:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:19 PM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  367
john9527  151
azazel1024  115
stevech  106
htismaqe  100
sfx2000  78
L&LD  75
TonyH  62
AndreyPopov  53
ColinTaylor  53
RMerlin  6029
john9527  378
stevech  350
ryzhov_al  279
TeHashX  233
L&LD  232
RogerSC  199
sinshiva  147
sfx2000  133
joegreat  126
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Shellshock...  27654
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  15247
Old Brainstorming...  2314
Old RT-AC68P  2126
Old Looking for...  2098
Old Advice on...  2012
Old RT-AC68U...  1490
Old Asus...  1476
Old Issues...  1395
Old AC-68...  1333
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  122
Old Advice on...  49
Old Brainstorming...  47
Old Looking for...  35
Old Shellshock...  31
Old Issues...  25
Old Stable...  25
Old WiFi Rates  23
Old RT-AC68U...  22
Old Belkin Pre-N...  21


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.