SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > NAS > General NAS Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-30-2012, 03:15 PM
ap-alexander ap-alexander is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ap-alexander is just starting out
Default Old computer as a Network Server

Hi there, I have recently upgraded my main desktop and want to built my old computer into a network server. I have most of what I need, but I need help in completing it.

Here's the information about my what I currently have:
Old computer:
An AMD Phenom II with 8GB of RAM, 40GB Intel SSD. It's built in an Antec 300 case with a 560W PSU and an Nvidia 9600GSO GPU. At the moment it's running Linux. (Ubuntu 12.10)

Uses: (what I want the system to do)
Pretty standard, really. I will use the server as main storage for media and documents, and will be streaming via ethernet to my TV via PS3. I would also love to be able to stream wirelessly to iOS devices and Apple TV. (I'm using the Apple TV to stream audio upstairs)

Network hardware:
This is a work in progress. I have a typical modem/router (Linksys dual band) setup. However, I have a 24 port patch panel (not installed) and have my eye on a 16-port unmanged gigabit switch to finish the build. I have network drops in the office, theater room, and one upstairs.

What I want to know is, instead of getting the 16-port switch, can I easily (and relatively in-expensively) turn my old computer into a network switch? What do I need to buy? I will be getting a couple Western Digital Red 3TB drives, but as far as ethernet connectivity do I just get several network cards and install them? What software to I need to get it all up and running?

Thanks in advance.

Andrew
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-30-2012, 03:57 PM
thiggins's Avatar
thiggins thiggins is offline
Mr. Easy
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 9,190
Thanks: 165
Thanked 629 Times in 533 Posts
thiggins is just starting out
Default

Buy the switch. You don't want your computer acting as a switch or even a router if you plan on using it as a NAS,
__________________
Tim Higgins
Managing Editor,SmallNetBuilder.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-30-2012, 05:55 PM
jdabbs's Avatar
jdabbs jdabbs is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: al.us
Posts: 627
Thanks: 0
Thanked 27 Times in 25 Posts
jdabbs is just starting out
Default

The switch would cost less.
__________________
"No battle plan survives contact with the enemy." - Field Marshal von Moltke
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
network, server, switch

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:13 AM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  400
john9527  160
azazel1024  116
htismaqe  103
sfx2000  87
stevech  74
ColinTaylor  69
AndreyPopov  58
TonyH  54
bbb0777  42
RMerlin  6060
john9527  391
stevech  351
ryzhov_al  280
TeHashX  237
L&LD  232
RogerSC  201
sinshiva  147
sfx2000  134
joegreat  126
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  30011
Old RT-AC68P...  2772
Old Brainstorming...  2697
Old Advice on...  2610
Old Looking for...  2366
Old RT-AC68U...  1911
Old Asus...  1825
Old Issues...  1786
Old Stable...  1692
Old AC-68...  1626
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  212
Old Brainstorming...  49
Old Advice on...  49
Old Looking for...  35
Old RT-AC68P...  33
Old WiFi...  27
Old Stable...  25
Old Issues...  25
Old WiFi Rates  23
Old RT-AC68U...  22


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.