SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > Asuswrt-Merlin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-11-2013, 02:14 PM
jochenthomas jochenthomas is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 11
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
jochenthomas is just starting out
Question admin access / ip-adress / how to change and hard-reset

Hi,
I changed the router's main IP-address from 192.168.1.1 to another one (192.168.5.1). But I forgot to change most likely the allowed IP for remote administration which I initially set to 192.168.1.99.

So -the AC66U having the wished IP now- I can't access the administration page (?because of this access rights?).
I was looking around via SSH (dhcp provides the correct IP for the clients) for the correct config file but was not able to find the right one.

So I thougt I can hard-reset the router by pressing the reset button for around 8s after powering up.
BUT Nothing happens. Holding down the butten does not change the power-LED to change (slow blinking).
The router boots in normal mode...

My questions therefore:
- how to change the now wrong set IP-address for the remote access (which config file is responsible)?
- why I can't hard reset the router (with the newest Merlin ROM)?

Last edited by jochenthomas; 01-11-2013 at 02:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-11-2013, 03:06 PM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 11,188
Thanks: 58
Thanked 6,275 Times in 2,557 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jochenthomas View Post
Hi,
I changed the router's main IP-address from 192.168.1.1 to another one (192.168.5.1). But I forgot to change most likely the allowed IP for remote administration which I initially set to 192.168.1.99.

So -the AC66U having the wished IP now- I can't access the administration page (?because of this access rights?).
I was looking around via SSH (dhcp provides the correct IP for the clients) for the correct config file but was not able to find the right one.

So I thougt I can hard-reset the router by pressing the reset button for around 8s after powering up.
BUT Nothing happens. Holding down the butten does not change the power-LED to change (slow blinking).
The router boots in normal mode...

My questions therefore:
- how to change the now wrong set IP-address for the remote access (which config file is responsible)?
- why I can't hard reset the router (with the newest Merlin ROM)?
The following will disable the IP access list:

Quote:
nvram set http_client=0
nvram commit
Resetting to factory defaults at boot time must be done with the WPS button. The reset button will reset your settings if you use it while the router is done booting.

If you boot the router while the reset button is already pressed, it will boot into recovery mode - it has to be pressed before you actually turn the router on.
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to RMerlin For This Useful Post:
  #3  
Old 01-11-2013, 04:53 PM
jochenthomas jochenthomas is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 11
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
jochenthomas is just starting out
Thumbs up

Hi,
many, many thanks for the competent answer.
It's good to have such an "Oracle".

Is there a source where I would be able to look for myself for such answers, the Guide surely will not reveal it :-)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-11-2013, 08:05 PM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 11,188
Thanks: 58
Thanked 6,275 Times in 2,557 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jochenthomas View Post
Hi,
many, many thanks for the competent answer.
It's good to have such an "Oracle".

Is there a source where I would be able to look for myself for such answers, the Guide surely will not reveal it :-)
While Asus does have an extensive list of FAQs for the firmware on their website, a lot of that low-level knowledge is only available by digging through the source code, or finding other user's past experiences on the forums.
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-12-2013, 08:50 AM
mikeg mikeg is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 326
Thanks: 12
Thanked 31 Times in 31 Posts
mikeg is just starting out
Default

Could be a good idea to have thread where usuful commands can be added.
I have a list which I have cut and pasted from various posts to contribute in this is coming up.
But I wonder why Asus could not to this ....


Quote:
Originally Posted by RMerlin View Post
While Asus does have an extensive list of FAQs for the firmware on their website, a lot of that low-level knowledge is only available by digging through the source code, or finding other user's past experiences on the forums.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-12-2013, 02:23 PM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 11,188
Thanks: 58
Thanked 6,275 Times in 2,557 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeg View Post
Could be a good idea to have thread where usuful commands can be added.
I have a list which I have cut and pasted from various posts to contribute in this is coming up.
But I wonder why Asus could not to this ....
95% of users don't need this to use the router for what it was meant, and also because the firmware is in constant evolution. Plus writing that kind of documentation takes a LOT of time, time better spent for them writing documentation on the actual features such as PPTP, disk sharing, etc...

Also, nvram settings aren't meant to be accessed by the users, because they can be changed at any time. For example, the nvram setting to disable GRO was renamed in recent firmware versions - that allowed Asus to change the default value from enabled to disabled without requiring users to reset to factory defaults. Think of it as a private API that shouldn't be relied upon.
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:10 PM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  426
azazel1024  125
john9527  96
L&LD  95
htismaqe  78
ColinTaylor  71
stevech  69
hggomes  63
sfx2000  58
Anzaia  49
RMerlin  6274
john9527  447
stevech  352
ryzhov_al  289
TeHashX  252
L&LD  242
RogerSC  202
sinshiva  146
sfx2000  136
joegreat  127
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  48482
Old RT-AC68 -...  22689
Old RT-AC68P...  7203
Old Moderate Nat...  4866
Old ASUS RT-N66U...  4378
Old iOS 8.1...  4006
Old RT-AC87U -...  2484
Old WiFi...  2443
Old RT-AC68P QOS...  2005
Old AC68U,...  1810
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  216
Old RT-AC68 -...  137
Old Review: 24...  35
Old RT-AC68P...  33
Old iOS 8.1...  33
Old Moderate Nat...  31
Old WiFi...  27
Old RT-AC87U -...  26
Old RT-AC68P QOS...  24
Old How to flash...  24


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.