SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > ASUS N Routers & Adapters

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-22-2013, 03:50 PM
Dazman Dazman is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Dazman is just starting out
Default Problems with 5Ghz

So far the 2.4Ghz is rock solid, but the 5Ghz loses connection now and then. I thought it was just my iphone until my laptop refused to connect. Even after multiple reboots it wouldn't connect so I updated to Merlin's latest firmware. Fingers crossed.

Anyone else have issues with the 5Ghz band?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-22-2013, 04:28 PM
Pierino Pierino is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 356
Thanks: 56
Thanked 42 Times in 32 Posts
Pierino is just starting out
Default

No, works fine for me. I use channel 161 here in the US of A.
__________________
Rt-ac68u on Asuswrt-Merlin fw
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-22-2013, 04:47 PM
squigish squigish is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
squigish is just starting out
Default

Yes, I have had intermittent problems with my 5GHz network, both on the RT-N66U and the RT-N56U. I suspect the cause is the fact that 5GHz radio signals are more easily blocked by obstacles like walls than 2.4GHz signals. That comes from the physics of radio propagation, and there's nothing anybody can do about it.

However, I have not extensively troubleshooted it, and it may in fact be a bug. As far as I recall, I have never had trouble connecting to 5GHz while in the same room as the router. I'm running the stock ASUS firmware, although will be upgrading to merlin soon.

The workaround for me is to just connect my 5GHz devices first to the 2.4GHz network, and then to the 5GHz network. That way, it gives the 5GHz network priority, but is still able to seamlessly fall back to the 2.4GHz network.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-22-2013, 05:57 PM
KevTech KevTech is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 234
Thanks: 2
Thanked 42 Times in 35 Posts
KevTech is just starting out
Default

I have found some devices would not connect unless I chose a lower channel.

Channel 36 gives me the best performance.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:03 PM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  360
sm00thpapa  232
stevech  190
azazel1024  165
KGB7  142
jim769  90
philmiami  80
htismaqe  78
AcostaJA  70
damir  58
RMerlin  5098
stevech  315
ryzhov_al  256
TeHashX  211
RogerSC  187
L&LD  186
joegreat  123
jlake  122
sinshiva  113
sfx2000  111
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old ASUS RT-N66U...  24556
Old Switched...  8283
Old NEW RT-AC68R...  7214
Old 3.0.0.4.376.1...  6848
Old ASUS...  6352
Old ASUS RTAC68U...  3648
Old ASUS...  3567
Old Netgear...  3459
Old N66U daily...  2917
Old ASUS...  2881
Old ASUS RT-N66U...  169
Old Switched...  66
Old NEW RT-AC68R...  57
Old ASUS...  51
Old N66U daily...  47
Old ASUS...  45
Old Netgear...  41
Old ASUS RTAC68U...  41
Old Which router...  41
Old ASUS...  39


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.