SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > ASUS AC Routers & Adapters

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-24-2013, 08:47 PM
cheston cheston is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
cheston is just starting out
Default Did I just brick my Asus?!?

Hi, I was updating the firmware to my router it said to manually restart the router which I did. When the power returned I could no longer detect the router. The power light was now blinking looking like it was in rescue mode. I tried to use the firmware restoration and the 30/30/30 method neither worked. The firmware restoration said that the router was not in rescue mode.

Please help!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-24-2013, 10:13 PM
absoluteRookii absoluteRookii is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
absoluteRookii is just starting out
Default To unbrick

Good thing is ASUS has a recovery mode. Go to this link on the ASUS site
http://support.asus.com/download.asp...Shv8ma7TrQB4eO

(the link is for Windows 7, 32-bit. If this is not your configuration, just go to support.asus.com and follow the instructions)
...and download the firmware and the restoration utility which is dated around the beginning of February. You have to install the utility on your computer. Run it and choose the firmware file. (you will have to extract from the ZIP format first).

Cross fingers for a no-brick result...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-25-2013, 04:45 AM
TeHashX's Avatar
TeHashX TeHashX is online now
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Europe
Posts: 749
Thanks: 184
Thanked 279 Times in 168 Posts
TeHashX is just starting out
Default

Try this steps:
1) On your pc set static ip 192.168.1.5, subnetmask 255.255.255.0, gateway 192.168.1.1
2) Unplug power cable from the router
3) Turn it on to leave all excess of power…
4) Press the WPS button
5) Plug the powercord back on and then, after 1 or 2 seconds, press the reset button without releasing the WPS.
6) Wait a bit and only now release the WPS button while keeping the Reset button on.
7) Wait a bit more and release.
8) Wait and try to ping your router on 192.168.1.1
9) Flash firmware again with asus firmware restoration
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TeHashX For This Useful Post:
  #4  
Old 05-09-2013, 11:14 AM
jimbones jimbones is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
jimbones is just starting out
Default

@TeHashX, you are an absolute legend!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:29 AM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  504
L&LD  244
stevech  149
jegesq  124
john9527  121
System Error...  101
azazel1024  93
Samir  91
Rankdropper84  85
dfran1  69
RMerlin  7403
john9527  764
stevech  385
ryzhov_al  320
L&LD  303
TeHashX  279
RogerSC  216
hggomes  206
sinshiva  161
sfx2000  148
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  109314
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  42600
Old Login...  32440
Old Entware-arm...  5605
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  5424
Old Home Mesh...  3794
Old ASUS...  3359
Old AC3200 worth...  2753
Old At what...  2564
Old End of the...  2188
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  618
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  271
Old Entware-arm...  58
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  54
Old Forgo...  44
Old Home Mesh...  42
Old Fear and...  39
Old ZyXEL...  39
Old AC68U cannot...  36
Old Lag issues...  35


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2015 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.