SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > ASUS N Routers & Adapters

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-16-2013, 10:35 PM
Lactose The Intolerant Lactose The Intolerant is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Lactose The Intolerant is just starting out
Default RT-N66U DHCP Relay

Hello, new N66 owner. I am wondering if it is possible to setup the router to relay DHCP from my Netgear firewall. My previous wireless router allowed this but I am not seeing where it is possible with the Asus.

I would like to avoid switching to AP mode if possible as when I setup that way my speeds were terrible. Thank you for your time and consideration.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-17-2013, 09:28 AM
Lactose The Intolerant Lactose The Intolerant is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Lactose The Intolerant is just starting out
Default

If it is not possible to perform DHCP relay is it possible to speed up the AP mode? Speeds drop to one half on speed when running in router mode. Hardwire connection still is fine when in AP mode but wireless is very slow.

Thank you again.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-19-2013, 12:13 AM
srinivasvaradaraj srinivasvaradaraj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Beaumont, TX, USA
Posts: 58
Thanks: 10
Thanked 13 Times in 10 Posts
srinivasvaradaraj is just starting out
Default

To accomplish what your trying to do,
1) Setup the LAN part of your ASUS router with a fixed IP outside the DHCP scope of your Netgear router. Make sure your netgear router is configured as the gateway on the router and match the netmask . So your asus is just another statically addressed client on the network.
2) Connect from one of the LAN ports on your ASUS to one of the LAN ports on the netgear router.
3) make sure you can ping both IP address of the asus router and your netgear gateway so you don't lose connections
4) Turn off your DHCP server on the asus router and leave it in router mode and enjoy.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to srinivasvaradaraj For This Useful Post:
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:54 PM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  419
sm00thpapa  206
stevech  191
azazel1024  179
KGB7  153
jim769  87
philmiami  86
AcostaJA  73
htismaqe  71
microchip  66
RMerlin  5150
stevech  315
ryzhov_al  259
TeHashX  212
RogerSC  187
L&LD  186
joegreat  123
jlake  122
sinshiva  115
sfx2000  112
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  19579
Old Switched...  8929
Old NEW RT-AC68R...  8138
Old ASUS...  7416
Old 3.0.0.4.376.1...  7063
Old ASUS...  6211
Old ASUS RT-AC87...  4151
Old ASUS RTAC68U...  3985
Old Netgear...  3756
Old ASUS...  3716
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  189
Old ASUS...  83
Old Switched...  66
Old NEW RT-AC68R...  57
Old [Q] How to...  56
Old Overclock...  52
Old N66U daily...  47
Old ASUS...  45
Old How many of...  45
Old ASUS...  44


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.