SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > LAN & WAN > MoCA, HomePlug, HPNA

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-21-2013, 02:30 AM
Kusuri Kusuri is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 11
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Kusuri is just starting out
Default Losing connection on HomePlug: Reboot either Homeplug or Router solves - Whose fault?

I have a homeplug (Asus PL-X32) set downstairs next to the main router and a 2nd one set upstairs to connect a PC to the internet.

Lately I've been having permanent drops roughly every 1 or 2 days only on the connection at the PC upstairs.
The PC downstairs connected directly to the main router can still use the Internet without problems.

The connection problem upstairs can only be resolved after either unplugging/replugging the homeplug there from the power or rebooting the main router downstairs. Unplugging/replugging any ethernet connections on either PC/homeplug/router makes no difference. Unplugging/replugging power of the homeplug downstairs also made no difference.

This is strange and doesn't make much sense to me, so I can't figure out what's at fault here.
Is it the HomePlug or could it be the Router? There's nothing in the router's log that can be of help and I don't have a different router or homeplug for testing.

Can it still be the Homeplug at fault even if rebooting the router is one of the methods that solves it? Anyone who knows well how the communication between a homeplug and routers work that could chime in on this? The best I could think of to do now was to switch places with the homeplugs and wait.

The router is still pretty new and in warranty (2 months left before it expires) which is why this is important for me.
Meanwhile I'm waiting for Asus to release the new PL-X52 homeplug as soon as possible...

Last edited by Kusuri; 01-21-2013 at 04:53 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-21-2013, 09:27 AM
thiggins's Avatar
thiggins thiggins is online now
Mr. Easy
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 9,182
Thanks: 165
Thanked 628 Times in 533 Posts
thiggins is just starting out
Default

It is probably the homeplug adapters, especially if they run hot. Trying to swap the adapter positions would at least let you narrow the problem down to a single adapter.

When the PC upstairs loses its connection, check whether it still has valid IP address information.
__________________
Tim Higgins
Managing Editor,SmallNetBuilder.com
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to thiggins For This Useful Post:
  #3  
Old 01-21-2013, 09:45 AM
Kusuri Kusuri is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 11
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Kusuri is just starting out
Default

Thanks for the tip. I'll make sure to try that the next time it goes down.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:43 AM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  363
john9527  150
azazel1024  129
stevech  114
htismaqe  104
sfx2000  78
L&LD  76
TonyH  68
AndreyPopov  53
ColinTaylor  52
RMerlin  6024
john9527  377
stevech  350
ryzhov_al  279
TeHashX  233
L&LD  232
RogerSC  199
sinshiva  147
sfx2000  133
joegreat  126
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Shellshock...  27632
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  14300
Old Brainstorming...  2301
Old Looking for...  2081
Old RT-AC68P  2054
Old Advice on...  1909
Old RT-AC68U...  1474
Old Asus...  1451
Old Issues...  1372
Old AC-68...  1322
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  117
Old Advice on...  48
Old Brainstorming...  47
Old Looking for...  35
Old Shellshock...  31
Old Issues...  25
Old Stable...  25
Old WiFi Rates  23
Old RT-AC68U...  22
Old Belkin Pre-N...  21


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.