SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > ASUS AC Routers & Adapters

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-24-2013, 08:47 PM
cheston cheston is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
cheston is just starting out
Default Did I just brick my Asus?!?

Hi, I was updating the firmware to my router it said to manually restart the router which I did. When the power returned I could no longer detect the router. The power light was now blinking looking like it was in rescue mode. I tried to use the firmware restoration and the 30/30/30 method neither worked. The firmware restoration said that the router was not in rescue mode.

Please help!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-24-2013, 10:13 PM
absoluteRookii absoluteRookii is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
absoluteRookii is just starting out
Default To unbrick

Good thing is ASUS has a recovery mode. Go to this link on the ASUS site
http://support.asus.com/download.asp...Shv8ma7TrQB4eO

(the link is for Windows 7, 32-bit. If this is not your configuration, just go to support.asus.com and follow the instructions)
...and download the firmware and the restoration utility which is dated around the beginning of February. You have to install the utility on your computer. Run it and choose the firmware file. (you will have to extract from the ZIP format first).

Cross fingers for a no-brick result...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-25-2013, 04:45 AM
TeHashX's Avatar
TeHashX TeHashX is online now
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Europe
Posts: 712
Thanks: 168
Thanked 270 Times in 163 Posts
TeHashX is just starting out
Default

Try this steps:
1) On your pc set static ip 192.168.1.5, subnetmask 255.255.255.0, gateway 192.168.1.1
2) Unplug power cable from the router
3) Turn it on to leave all excess of power…
4) Press the WPS button
5) Plug the powercord back on and then, after 1 or 2 seconds, press the reset button without releasing the WPS.
6) Wait a bit and only now release the WPS button while keeping the Reset button on.
7) Wait a bit more and release.
8) Wait and try to ping your router on 192.168.1.1
9) Flash firmware again with asus firmware restoration
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TeHashX For This Useful Post:
  #4  
Old 05-09-2013, 11:14 AM
jimbones jimbones is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
jimbones is just starting out
Default

@TeHashX, you are an absolute legend!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:23 AM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  495
john9527  191
huotg01  175
System Error...  149
stevech  139
jegesq  131
L&LD  127
hggomes  106
azazel1024  98
RussellInCinc...  66
RMerlin  6895
john9527  653
stevech  373
ryzhov_al  311
L&LD  272
TeHashX  270
RogerSC  208
hggomes  171
sinshiva  156
sfx2000  144
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old SECURITY:...  18340
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  14605
Old ASUS...  10513
Old ASUS...  7368
Old ASUS...  6821
Old choose a new...  3036
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  2459
Old Bulding...  2246
Old Horrible...  2065
Old Upgraded to...  1744
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  140
Old SECURITY:...  74
Old choose a new...  73
Old ASUS...  59
Old What is dual...  43
Old ASUS...  43
Old Using a UPS...  30
Old ASUS...  29
Old Need a...  27
Old Can you help...  25


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2015 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.