SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > LAN & WAN > MoCA, HomePlug, HPNA

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-21-2013, 03:30 AM
Kusuri Kusuri is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 11
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Kusuri is just starting out
Default Losing connection on HomePlug: Reboot either Homeplug or Router solves - Whose fault?

I have a homeplug (Asus PL-X32) set downstairs next to the main router and a 2nd one set upstairs to connect a PC to the internet.

Lately I've been having permanent drops roughly every 1 or 2 days only on the connection at the PC upstairs.
The PC downstairs connected directly to the main router can still use the Internet without problems.

The connection problem upstairs can only be resolved after either unplugging/replugging the homeplug there from the power or rebooting the main router downstairs. Unplugging/replugging any ethernet connections on either PC/homeplug/router makes no difference. Unplugging/replugging power of the homeplug downstairs also made no difference.

This is strange and doesn't make much sense to me, so I can't figure out what's at fault here.
Is it the HomePlug or could it be the Router? There's nothing in the router's log that can be of help and I don't have a different router or homeplug for testing.

Can it still be the Homeplug at fault even if rebooting the router is one of the methods that solves it? Anyone who knows well how the communication between a homeplug and routers work that could chime in on this? The best I could think of to do now was to switch places with the homeplugs and wait.

The router is still pretty new and in warranty (2 months left before it expires) which is why this is important for me.
Meanwhile I'm waiting for Asus to release the new PL-X52 homeplug as soon as possible...

Last edited by Kusuri; 01-21-2013 at 05:53 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-21-2013, 10:27 AM
thiggins's Avatar
thiggins thiggins is offline
Mr. Easy
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 9,284
Thanks: 166
Thanked 658 Times in 552 Posts
thiggins is just starting out
Default

It is probably the homeplug adapters, especially if they run hot. Trying to swap the adapter positions would at least let you narrow the problem down to a single adapter.

When the PC upstairs loses its connection, check whether it still has valid IP address information.
__________________
Tim Higgins
Managing Editor,SmallNetBuilder.com
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to thiggins For This Useful Post:
  #3  
Old 01-21-2013, 10:45 AM
Kusuri Kusuri is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 11
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Kusuri is just starting out
Default

Thanks for the tip. I'll make sure to try that the next time it goes down.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:05 AM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  364
L&LD  122
john9527  119
htismaqe  92
azazel1024  92
stevech  89
huotg01  80
jegesq  78
watusi  58
ColinTaylor  56
RMerlin  6397
john9527  506
stevech  357
ryzhov_al  298
TeHashX  263
L&LD  255
RogerSC  205
sinshiva  149
sfx2000  137
hggomes  129
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old New AC68...  9530
Old Why not...  8376
Old ASUS RT-N66U...  5826
Old RT-AC66U...  3483
Old Why ASUS?  2412
Old NAS...  1844
Old Help Plz:...  1610
Old Asus...  1500
Old OpenVPN...  1463
Old Remote...  1408
Old Why not...  81
Old Remote...  46
Old New AC68...  36
Old Whats going...  28
Old The future...  26
Old Extension...  26
Old RT-N66U...  26
Old ASUS RT-N66U...  25
Old What are the...  25
Old OpenVPN...  25


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.