SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > LAN & WAN > Switches, NICs and cabling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-22-2013, 08:23 PM
sevendustweb sevendustweb is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
sevendustweb is just starting out
Default Outdoor Cat6 wiring

Hello:

My A/V installer is going to be running several drops of Cat6 from my basement to my attic. One proposed path is up the side of an unused chimney. The wiring would be run outside and would be covered with conduit.

I have 2,000 ft of Cat6 UTP Solid wiring from Monoprice. It is NOT outdoor rated. If I run the standard Cat6 wiring though conduit, can it survive the elements (cold weather, humid summers, summer heat, etc.) or should I run 1 drop of Cat6 outdoor rated from a switch in the basement to a switch in the attic?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-22-2013, 08:47 PM
stevech stevech is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 4,852
Thanks: 1
Thanked 352 Times in 340 Posts
stevech is just starting out
Default

I'd guess yes. But there are building codes to worry on.. I'd play it safe and get plenum rated cable for fire codes.

The connectors are the items to protect from humidity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-24-2013, 11:11 PM
tipstir tipstir is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,627
Thanks: 0
Thanked 35 Times in 35 Posts
tipstir is just starting out
Send a message via AIM to tipstir Send a message via Yahoo to tipstir Send a message via Skype™ to tipstir
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sevendustweb View Post
Hello:

My A/V installer is going to be running several drops of Cat6 from my basement to my attic. One proposed path is up the side of an unused chimney. The wiring would be run outside and would be covered with conduit.

I have 2,000 ft of Cat6 UTP Solid wiring from Monoprice. It is NOT outdoor rated. If I run the standard Cat6 wiring though conduit, can it survive the elements (cold weather, humid summers, summer heat, etc.) or should I run 1 drop of Cat6 outdoor rated from a switch in the basement to a switch in the attic?

Thanks!
Don't use cheap Ethernet cables for outside usage. I use to use Belkin CAT5e ran it up the roof down the side of the house and mounted them with wood coax mounts. 32 x 50FT and 75FT drops ran all over. Drilled holes thru wooded floors and snake the Ethernet through the underground garage then into a drop network closet. The Ethernet cables were out in 100F to -10F freezing cold and ice rain stormy weather. No issues with them.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:36 PM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  399
john9527  157
azazel1024  114
htismaqe  100
sfx2000  81
stevech  75
ColinTaylor  65
AndreyPopov  57
TonyH  55
bbb0777  42
RMerlin  6059
john9527  389
stevech  351
ryzhov_al  280
TeHashX  237
L&LD  232
RogerSC  201
sinshiva  147
sfx2000  134
joegreat  126
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  28453
Old Brainstorming...  2626
Old Advice on...  2570
Old Looking for...  2350
Old RT-AC68P...  2298
Old RT-AC68U...  1866
Old Asus...  1796
Old Issues...  1762
Old Stable...  1648
Old AC-68...  1605
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  205
Old Advice on...  49
Old Brainstorming...  47
Old Looking for...  35
Old RT-AC68P...  29
Old WiFi...  27
Old Issues...  25
Old Stable...  25
Old WiFi Rates  23
Old RT-AC68U...  22


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.