SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > Wireless Buying Advice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-08-2013, 12:44 PM
wirelessroute wirelessroute is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
wirelessroute is just starting out
Lightbulb How to expand coverage to 2nd floor with wired Access Point?

Hi I currently have an Asus rt-ac66u router. I want to extend the signal strength and speed to some areas on the 2nd floor of my home where signal is ok but speeds die to around 1-2meg.
I am looking for recommendation on access point to purchase that will fit my needs. I want to connect the new AP via Ethernet back to the Asus router
I've noticed a lot of extenders that simply take the wireless signal and repeat it. I'd rather have something that will connect back via Ethernet for faster speeds. The extenders are half duplex right ?
What access point do your recommend that has dual band 2.4 and 5ghz? I want to extend the existing SSID for both 2.4 and 5ghz so close clients can connict to the AP, any issues or conflicts doing this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-08-2013, 12:53 PM
mlg321's Avatar
mlg321 mlg321 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 26
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
mlg321 is just starting out
Default

Asus have an access point for about $90, the EA-N66. You can use it as a repeater, access point and Ethernet adapter.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-08-2013, 01:23 PM
wirelessroute wirelessroute is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
wirelessroute is just starting out
Thumbs up

Yeah sounds like what i am looking for, man its expensive anything in the $50n0 range or any router that I can turn into Access point ?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-08-2013, 03:41 PM
CaptainSTX CaptainSTX is online now
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 562
Thanks: 10
Thanked 96 Times in 93 Posts
CaptainSTX is just starting out
Default AP Suggestions

Almost any router can be converted or used as an AP. Software/firmware is o an issue if you want to set up a unit as a wireless repeater.

There is a detailed how to do it article on this site.

Basic steps:

1. Turn off DHCP on router you want to make into an AP.

2. Run an Ethernet cable from a LAN port on your router to a LAN port on the AP.

3. Then decide on the channel you want to use and a SSID.

Your cost for an AP will be driven by if you want/need a N AP and if you need both 2.4GHZ and 5 GHZ radios.

If you can get by with just 2.4 MHZ G then $50 should be plenty of budget. You can even get a good N unit if you are willing to buy refurbished units. I pick up 54Gs flashed with DD-WRT for around $40 and they work fine as APs in poor WiFi areas in my home.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-08-2013, 06:08 PM
wirelessroute wirelessroute is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
wirelessroute is just starting out
Default

Here is a picture of what I want to do

[RT-AC66U]<-- wire Ethernet to 2nd floor --> [Netgear unmanaged 4 port switch]<-- wire Ethernet -->[AP or Repeater ??] >>>> Broadcasting same SSID for 2.4 and 5 ghz has RT-AC66U on 1st floor.

If I can do this with any wireless router maybe I can pickup a refurbished Linksys?
Like this one > http://homestore.cisco.com/en-us/Rou...VVviewprod.htm
$40 refurbished has gig ports, 300+ 300 simultaneous.

Last edited by wirelessroute; 01-08-2013 at 06:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-09-2013, 01:59 AM
Nerre Nerre is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 312
Thanks: 0
Thanked 32 Times in 30 Posts
Nerre is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptainSTX View Post
1. Turn off DHCP on router you want to make into an AP.
Before that, give it a static IP address so you can still reach it for configuration.

Can be done by setting an explicit static IP or setting your real DHCP server to give it a static IP based on MAC (I'm using both ways because one of the routers I use doesn't support DHCP client on LAN when set up as access point).


But I agree that buying a router to use as access point is usually a cheaper solution than buying a dedicated access point.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-09-2013, 06:45 AM
devnull devnull is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
devnull is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wirelessroute View Post
Here is a picture of what I want to do

[RT-AC66U]<-- wire Ethernet to 2nd floor --> [Netgear unmanaged 4 port switch]<-- wire Ethernet -->[AP or Repeater ??] >>>> Broadcasting same SSID for 2.4 and 5 ghz has RT-AC66U on 1st floor.

If I can do this with any wireless router maybe I can pickup a refurbished Linksys?
Like this one > http://homestore.cisco.com/en-us/Rou...VVviewprod.htm
$40 refurbished has gig ports, 300+ 300 simultaneous.
You've got it pretty much nailed, except most people here agree that for a home network, use separate SSID names for each access point. It makes it easier to troubleshoot reception problems if you can pick which AP you're connecting to.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-09-2013, 07:34 AM
CaptainSTX CaptainSTX is online now
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 562
Thanks: 10
Thanked 96 Times in 93 Posts
CaptainSTX is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wirelessroute View Post
Here is a picture of what I want to do

[RT-AC66U]<-- wire Ethernet to 2nd floor --> [Netgear unmanaged 4 port switch]<-- wire Ethernet -->[AP or Repeater ??] >>>> Broadcasting same SSID for 2.4 and 5 ghz has RT-AC66U on 1st floor.

If I can do this with any wireless router maybe I can pickup a refurbished Linksys?
Like this one > http://homestore.cisco.com/en-us/Rou...VVviewprod.htm
$40 refurbished has gig ports, 300+ 300 simultaneous.
What you have outlined will work, but why not just buy a router and use it as an AP instead of using two pieces of equipment (AP + Switch)? You would be able to use three of the LAN ports on the upstairs router/AP as wired Ethernet ports.

Also my preference is to use different SSIDs on all APs so that a user can quickly determine which AP they are attached to and so if necessary connect to an AP that has or should have the strongest signal.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-09-2013, 02:11 PM
wirelessroute wirelessroute is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
wirelessroute is just starting out
Thumbs up

Awesome ordered a refurb linksys/cisco e4200v2, should be more than enough for upstairs. Will let you guys know how it goes.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-10-2013, 12:15 AM
stevech stevech is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 4,852
Thanks: 1
Thanked 352 Times in 340 Posts
stevech is just starting out
Default

Quote:
What you have outlined will work, but why not just buy a router and use it as an AP instead of using two pieces of equipment (AP + Switch)? You would be able to use three of the LAN ports on the upstairs router/AP as wired Ethernet ports.

Also my preference is to use different SSIDs on all APs so that a user can quickly determine which AP they are attached to and so if necessary connect to an AP that has or should have the strongest signal.
I second this. Ane $40 WiFi router will do, or one long retired, or discarded by a friend.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:37 PM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  399
john9527  157
azazel1024  114
htismaqe  100
sfx2000  81
stevech  75
ColinTaylor  65
AndreyPopov  57
TonyH  55
bbb0777  42
RMerlin  6059
john9527  389
stevech  351
ryzhov_al  280
TeHashX  237
L&LD  232
RogerSC  201
sinshiva  147
sfx2000  134
joegreat  126
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  28453
Old Brainstorming...  2626
Old Advice on...  2570
Old Looking for...  2350
Old RT-AC68P...  2298
Old RT-AC68U...  1866
Old Asus...  1796
Old Issues...  1762
Old Stable...  1648
Old AC-68...  1605
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  205
Old Advice on...  49
Old Brainstorming...  47
Old Looking for...  35
Old RT-AC68P...  29
Old WiFi...  27
Old Issues...  25
Old Stable...  25
Old WiFi Rates  23
Old RT-AC68U...  22


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.