SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > LAN & WAN > Switches, NICs and cabling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-22-2013, 08:23 PM
sevendustweb sevendustweb is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
sevendustweb is just starting out
Default Outdoor Cat6 wiring

Hello:

My A/V installer is going to be running several drops of Cat6 from my basement to my attic. One proposed path is up the side of an unused chimney. The wiring would be run outside and would be covered with conduit.

I have 2,000 ft of Cat6 UTP Solid wiring from Monoprice. It is NOT outdoor rated. If I run the standard Cat6 wiring though conduit, can it survive the elements (cold weather, humid summers, summer heat, etc.) or should I run 1 drop of Cat6 outdoor rated from a switch in the basement to a switch in the attic?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-22-2013, 08:47 PM
stevech stevech is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 4,459
Thanks: 1
Thanked 316 Times in 304 Posts
stevech is just starting out
Default

I'd guess yes. But there are building codes to worry on.. I'd play it safe and get plenum rated cable for fire codes.

The connectors are the items to protect from humidity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-24-2013, 11:11 PM
tipstir tipstir is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,625
Thanks: 0
Thanked 35 Times in 35 Posts
tipstir is just starting out
Send a message via AIM to tipstir Send a message via Yahoo to tipstir Send a message via Skype™ to tipstir
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sevendustweb View Post
Hello:

My A/V installer is going to be running several drops of Cat6 from my basement to my attic. One proposed path is up the side of an unused chimney. The wiring would be run outside and would be covered with conduit.

I have 2,000 ft of Cat6 UTP Solid wiring from Monoprice. It is NOT outdoor rated. If I run the standard Cat6 wiring though conduit, can it survive the elements (cold weather, humid summers, summer heat, etc.) or should I run 1 drop of Cat6 outdoor rated from a switch in the basement to a switch in the attic?

Thanks!
Don't use cheap Ethernet cables for outside usage. I use to use Belkin CAT5e ran it up the roof down the side of the house and mounted them with wood coax mounts. 32 x 50FT and 75FT drops ran all over. Drilled holes thru wooded floors and snake the Ethernet through the underground garage then into a drop network closet. The Ethernet cables were out in 100F to -10F freezing cold and ice rain stormy weather. No issues with them.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:40 PM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  345
sm00thpapa  229
stevech  188
azazel1024  155
KGB7  139
jim769  85
htismaqe  82
philmiami  80
AcostaJA  69
ColinTaylor  59
RMerlin  5089
stevech  315
ryzhov_al  252
TeHashX  209
RogerSC  187
L&LD  186
joegreat  123
jlake  122
sinshiva  111
sfx2000  111
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old ASUS RT-N66U...  24027
Old NETGEAR...  13080
Old Switched...  7757
Old 3.0.0.4.376.1...  6771
Old NEW RT-AC68R...  6721
Old ASUS...  6096
Old ASUS RTAC68U...  3548
Old Netgear...  3342
Old ASUS...  3253
Old N66U daily...  2866
Old ASUS RT-N66U...  169
Old NETGEAR...  161
Old Switched...  66
Old NEW RT-AC68R...  56
Old ASUS...  51
Old N66U daily...  47
Old Netgear...  41
Old Which router...  41
Old ASUS RTAC68U...  41
Old ASUS...  38


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.