SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > ASUS N Routers & Adapters

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-26-2013, 04:47 PM
brennevin brennevin is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
brennevin is just starting out
Default How to divide a 100 mb internet connection into 4 sub networks of 25 mb each?

Sorry for probably a silly question, but in my building we have a fiber connection which is 100 mb. And we are 4 people who are using it. I would like to use the rt-n66u to split it into 4 connections of 25 mb. And I would like it to be wired and use the 4 ports on the router. The users should not be able to see each other on the network, so it should be 4 completely private networks. Is this possible to do in a fairly easy way?
Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-26-2013, 05:22 PM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 10,881
Thanks: 56
Thanked 6,061 Times in 2,471 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brennevin View Post
Sorry for probably a silly question, but in my building we have a fiber connection which is 100 mb. And we are 4 people who are using it. I would like to use the rt-n66u to split it into 4 connections of 25 mb. And I would like it to be wired and use the 4 ports on the router. The users should not be able to see each other on the network, so it should be 4 completely private networks. Is this possible to do in a fairly easy way?
Thank you.
Probably doable by using Tomato, but definitely not in an easy way. You will have to learn to work with VLANs probably to be able to isolate all four users.
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-27-2013, 01:40 PM
brennevin brennevin is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
brennevin is just starting out
Default

Ok, thanks for the reply.
Would you know if there is a cheap device that does this and is easy to manage? Like a switch of some kind?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-27-2013, 02:01 PM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 10,881
Thanks: 56
Thanked 6,061 Times in 2,471 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brennevin View Post
Ok, thanks for the reply.
Would you know if there is a cheap device that does this and is easy to manage? Like a switch of some kind?
Not that I'm aware of. This is a pretty specialized requirement, so I suspect it would be mostly available from business-class devices from the likes of Sonicwall.

Otherwise, pretty sure it can be done with Tomato. Try asking on the Tomato forums at Linksysinfo, there are quite a few QoS/bandwidth control gurus there.
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-27-2013, 02:27 PM
thiggins's Avatar
thiggins thiggins is offline
Mr. Easy
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 9,190
Thanks: 165
Thanked 629 Times in 533 Posts
thiggins is just starting out
Default

You can do this with a smart/managed switch with VLANs and with ingress/egress port rate limiting. Switch would be linked to a router LAN port and the four networks run to ports on the switch.

Something like this would work: TP-LINK TL-SG2216 Gigabit Smart Switch Reviewed
__________________
Tim Higgins
Managing Editor,SmallNetBuilder.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-04-2013, 01:06 AM
gluon gluon is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
gluon is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brennevin View Post
Ok, thanks for the reply.
Would you know if there is a cheap device that does this and is easy to manage? Like a switch of some kind?
I would suggest this mikrotik be sufficient enough for your case.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:05 AM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  400
john9527  160
azazel1024  116
htismaqe  103
sfx2000  87
stevech  74
ColinTaylor  69
AndreyPopov  58
TonyH  54
bbb0777  42
RMerlin  6060
john9527  391
stevech  351
ryzhov_al  280
TeHashX  237
L&LD  232
RogerSC  201
sinshiva  147
sfx2000  134
joegreat  126
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  29857
Old RT-AC68P...  2735
Old Brainstorming...  2693
Old Advice on...  2602
Old Looking for...  2364
Old RT-AC68U...  1907
Old Asus...  1823
Old Issues...  1784
Old Stable...  1689
Old AC-68...  1623
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  212
Old Brainstorming...  49
Old Advice on...  49
Old Looking for...  35
Old RT-AC68P...  32
Old WiFi...  27
Old Stable...  25
Old Issues...  25
Old WiFi Rates  23
Old RT-AC68U...  22


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.