SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > LAN & WAN > Other LAN and WAN

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-16-2012, 10:58 AM
netdummy netdummy is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
netdummy is just starting out
Default Not all devices on wired Network working.

Hi,

I ran 3 x 10m network cables under the floorboards of my house to various rooms and cut off the ends and terminated them to RJ45 keystone jacks and wallplates.

I then connected the 3 'router ends' from wallplate to router and tested all the other end connections by plugging in an old xp laptop.

The laptop picked up an IP from the router and had internet access so I assumed all was well.

I'm now finding that some networked devices will pick up an IP and work and some wont.

Devices that will work are:
The aforementioned XP laptop
& a WD Live

Devices that wont work are:
AV Receiver.
Raspberry Pi.

The devices that don't work on my DIY cabling are verified as working when I plug straight into the router.

I assumed either everything would work or not work.
How can this happen?

thanks in advance for any help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-16-2012, 11:50 AM
TonyH TonyH is online now
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Calgary AB Canada
Posts: 870
Thanks: 5
Thanked 61 Times in 58 Posts
TonyH is just starting out
Send a message via Skype™ to TonyH
Default

Hi,
I'd double check the cables you made.
Good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-21-2012, 04:08 AM
netdummy netdummy is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
netdummy is just starting out
Default

Yeah, I know the cables must be dodgy.

My question is why would some devices work and not all?

If the cables are no good I would have expected nothing to work.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-21-2012, 05:00 AM
Nerre Nerre is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 312
Thanks: 0
Thanked 32 Times in 30 Posts
Nerre is just starting out
Default

This is a wild theory, but I think it could be a matter of whether the devices can handle crossover cables or not.

In the good old days normal cables were straight, in a network switch or hub the pins corresponding to the devices TX were RX and vice versa. This meant a straight cable could be used to connect a computer to a network switch or hub.

For uplink between two network switches you needed a crossover cable (cross-connecting TX to RX) because otherwise you would connect TX to TX and RX to RX.

Later on network switches were designed with a dedicated uplink port, which could be switched over between "straight" and "crossed" (manually or automatically). This meant you could always use straight cables (but crossover could still be used between network switches).

Modern network switches have autodetect for uplink on ALL ports (meaning any port can be used as uplink). This means they can handle both straight and crossover cables.

I think maybe also modern NICs for computers can have autodetect. If both ends support autodetect they might be able to negotiate a connection on "the wrong pairs" in the cable if "the right pairs" are not working. But if only one end supports autodetect this will fail.


I bought a cheap cable tester a week ago because I have always hated not knowing if the cable is working or not... And it's a pain to test using a multimeter or a buzzer of the ends of the cable are far apart. Now I just plug in the two parts of the tester in each end and watch the LEDs and see if there is open circuit or if some leads are crossed.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-07-2012, 07:39 AM
netdummy netdummy is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
netdummy is just starting out
Default

Thanks for the reply Nerre.

That sounds plausible. I IDC'ed the cables pin to pin myself.

I think I'll invest in a cheap cable tester as it's annoying me not knowing what the problem is.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-18-2012, 07:41 AM
netdummy netdummy is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
netdummy is just starting out
Default

I bought a cheap cable tester and it appears I have an open on pin 3 on both cables.

Very odd that it would be the same 1 on 2 cables. Need to check if the keystone jacks I bought are dodgy.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:29 PM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  426
azazel1024  125
john9527  95
L&LD  95
htismaqe  78
ColinTaylor  73
stevech  68
hggomes  62
sfx2000  55
Anzaia  49
RMerlin  6276
john9527  447
stevech  353
ryzhov_al  289
TeHashX  252
L&LD  242
RogerSC  202
sinshiva  146
sfx2000  136
joegreat  127
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  49045
Old RT-AC68 -...  22807
Old Moderate Nat...  4894
Old ASUS RT-N66U...  4412
Old iOS 8.1...  4013
Old RT-AC87U -...  2496
Old WiFi...  2449
Old RT-AC68P QOS...  2008
Old AC68U,...  1824
Old Ruckus...  1704
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  222
Old RT-AC68 -...  137
Old Review: 24...  35
Old iOS 8.1...  33
Old Moderate Nat...  31
Old WiFi...  27
Old RT-AC87U -...  26
Old RT-AC68P QOS...  24
Old How to flash...  24
Old Linksys...  21


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.