SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > ASUS N Routers & Adapters

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-22-2013, 03:50 PM
Dazman Dazman is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Dazman is just starting out
Default Problems with 5Ghz

So far the 2.4Ghz is rock solid, but the 5Ghz loses connection now and then. I thought it was just my iphone until my laptop refused to connect. Even after multiple reboots it wouldn't connect so I updated to Merlin's latest firmware. Fingers crossed.

Anyone else have issues with the 5Ghz band?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-22-2013, 04:28 PM
Pierino Pierino is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 399
Thanks: 58
Thanked 45 Times in 35 Posts
Pierino is just starting out
Default

No, works fine for me. I use channel 161 here in the US of A.
__________________
Rt-ac68u on Asuswrt-Merlin fw
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-22-2013, 04:47 PM
squigish squigish is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
squigish is just starting out
Default

Yes, I have had intermittent problems with my 5GHz network, both on the RT-N66U and the RT-N56U. I suspect the cause is the fact that 5GHz radio signals are more easily blocked by obstacles like walls than 2.4GHz signals. That comes from the physics of radio propagation, and there's nothing anybody can do about it.

However, I have not extensively troubleshooted it, and it may in fact be a bug. As far as I recall, I have never had trouble connecting to 5GHz while in the same room as the router. I'm running the stock ASUS firmware, although will be upgrading to merlin soon.

The workaround for me is to just connect my 5GHz devices first to the 2.4GHz network, and then to the 5GHz network. That way, it gives the 5GHz network priority, but is still able to seamlessly fall back to the 2.4GHz network.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-22-2013, 05:57 PM
KevTech KevTech is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 308
Thanks: 2
Thanked 54 Times in 44 Posts
KevTech is just starting out
Default

I have found some devices would not connect unless I chose a lower channel.

Channel 36 gives me the best performance.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:31 PM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  353
john9527  150
azazel1024  132
L&LD  127
stevech  120
htismaqe  98
sfx2000  75
TonyH  72
ChristineBCW  65
AndreyPopov  59
RMerlin  6012
john9527  373
stevech  349
ryzhov_al  277
TeHashX  232
L&LD  231
RogerSC  199
sinshiva  147
sfx2000  133
joegreat  126
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Shellshock...  27369
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  8169
Old Antenna...  3822
Old Asus...  3439
Old Simple NAS...  2349
Old Brainstorming...  2143
Old Looking for...  1894
Old RT-AC68P  1742
Old New Router:...  1572
Old RT-AC68U...  1325
Old Antenna...  73
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  59
Old Brainstorming...  47
Old Advice on...  43
Old Simple NAS...  36
Old Looking for...  35
Old Shellshock...  31
Old Asus...  29
Old WiFi Rates  23
Old RT-AC68U...  22


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.