SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > ASUS N Routers & Adapters

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-22-2013, 04:50 PM
Dazman Dazman is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Dazman is just starting out
Default Problems with 5Ghz

So far the 2.4Ghz is rock solid, but the 5Ghz loses connection now and then. I thought it was just my iphone until my laptop refused to connect. Even after multiple reboots it wouldn't connect so I updated to Merlin's latest firmware. Fingers crossed.

Anyone else have issues with the 5Ghz band?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-22-2013, 05:28 PM
Pierino Pierino is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 444
Thanks: 66
Thanked 45 Times in 35 Posts
Pierino is just starting out
Default

No, works fine for me. I use channel 161 here in the US of A.
__________________
Rt-ac68u on Asuswrt-Merlin fw
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-22-2013, 05:47 PM
squigish squigish is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
squigish is just starting out
Default

Yes, I have had intermittent problems with my 5GHz network, both on the RT-N66U and the RT-N56U. I suspect the cause is the fact that 5GHz radio signals are more easily blocked by obstacles like walls than 2.4GHz signals. That comes from the physics of radio propagation, and there's nothing anybody can do about it.

However, I have not extensively troubleshooted it, and it may in fact be a bug. As far as I recall, I have never had trouble connecting to 5GHz while in the same room as the router. I'm running the stock ASUS firmware, although will be upgrading to merlin soon.

The workaround for me is to just connect my 5GHz devices first to the 2.4GHz network, and then to the 5GHz network. That way, it gives the 5GHz network priority, but is still able to seamlessly fall back to the 2.4GHz network.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-22-2013, 06:57 PM
KevTech KevTech is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 324
Thanks: 2
Thanked 55 Times in 45 Posts
KevTech is just starting out
Default

I have found some devices would not connect unless I chose a lower channel.

Channel 36 gives me the best performance.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:58 AM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  364
L&LD  122
john9527  119
htismaqe  92
azazel1024  92
stevech  89
huotg01  80
jegesq  78
watusi  58
ColinTaylor  56
RMerlin  6396
john9527  504
stevech  357
ryzhov_al  298
TeHashX  263
L&LD  255
RogerSC  205
sinshiva  149
sfx2000  137
hggomes  129
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old New AC68...  9518
Old Why not...  8352
Old ASUS RT-N66U...  5805
Old RT-AC66U...  3474
Old Why ASUS?  2408
Old NAS...  1842
Old Help Plz:...  1609
Old Asus...  1498
Old OpenVPN...  1452
Old Remote...  1400
Old Why not...  81
Old Remote...  46
Old New AC68...  36
Old Whats going...  28
Old Extension...  26
Old RT-N66U...  26
Old The future...  26
Old ASUS RT-N66U...  25
Old OpenVPN...  25
Old What are the...  25


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.