SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > ASUS N Routers & Adapters

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 02-22-2013, 07:27 PM
RogerSC RogerSC is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,380
Thanks: 20
Thanked 195 Times in 172 Posts
RogerSC is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveMishSr View Post
You have no PCIe slots other than one graphics card slot so you will have to go with USB. Personally, I had great luck with TrendNET's TEW-684UB when I was running a RT-N66U. I also have a EA-N66 I got as an open box special but its expensive and the TEW-684UB is just as good, for a lot less.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...&Tpk=TEW-684UB
I'm currently using a Linksys AE3000...I was happy to see it connect at 450Mb/s on 5GHz. Haven't measured the actual throughput, though, but I had it on my main computer (a laptop) that I do a lot with (streaming video, downloading DVD's, etc.), and it did fine for several days, no problems.

One afterthoght, though, it is a "manual" install on Windows 8. You download the Windows 7 driver, unzip it, and point the Device Manager entry for the AE3000 at it, and the Device Manager installs the driver. Works well on Windows 8, but Linksys/Cisco/whoever should really add Windows 8 installation pieces.

Last edited by RogerSC; 02-22-2013 at 07:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-22-2013, 08:17 PM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 10,483
Thanks: 54
Thanked 5,891 Times in 2,393 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

Damn. This motherboard sure is crazy limited in terms of expansion If you use the on-board graphics then you could use that X16 for your wireless card, but that would prevent any future video upgrade.
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-22-2013, 09:25 PM
sabot105mm sabot105mm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 48
Thanks: 3
Thanked 4 Times in 1 Post
sabot105mm is just starting out
Default

Take a look at the ae3000 dualband 3x3. Mine I got for 25 certified refurb from cisco
lan speedtest: reading and writing to an NTFS HDD connected to the router

AP was 15 feet away separated by a one wall
5ghz 20mhz download upload MBps
ave 6.2 3.6
max 6.9 4.0
min 5.8 3.3


2.5ghz 20mhz download upload MBps
ave 4.6 3.1
max 5.4 3.5
min 4.2 2.2

5ghz 40mhz download upload MBps
ave 7.8 3.7
max 9.2 4.4
min 5.8 3.3


2.5ghz 40mhz download upload MBps
ave 6.1 3.3
max 7.4 3.7
min 4.8 2.7

Last edited by sabot105mm; 02-22-2013 at 10:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-23-2013, 02:43 AM
Mangix Mangix is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Mangix is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RMerlin View Post
Damn. This motherboard sure is crazy limited in terms of expansion If you use the on-board graphics then you could use that X16 for your wireless card, but that would prevent any future video upgrade.
That particular motherboard is designed for AMD CPUs that have built-in GPUs. You could add an extension card but there's close to no point.

Stick with USB. It's got a long life to live.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-23-2013, 11:30 AM
dikkiedirk dikkiedirk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 56
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
dikkiedirk is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveMishSr View Post
You have no PCIe slots other than one graphics card slot so you will have to go with USB. Personally, I had great luck with TrendNET's TEW-684UB when I was running a RT-N66U. I also have a EA-N66 I got as an open box special but its expensive and the TEW-684UB is just as good, for a lot less.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...&Tpk=TEW-684UB
Just got a TEW-684 from Amazon. Works great with my N66U. Its connected to my laptop and am now able to play Bluray rips from my unraid server over WiFi.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:25 AM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  360
L&LD  170
azazel1024  156
stevech  133
ChristineBCW  117
john9527  115
hggomes  84
dirtyclyde  66
TonyH  64
4Leaf  53
RMerlin  5890
stevech  344
john9527  303
ryzhov_al  274
TeHashX  230
L&LD  225
RogerSC  195
sinshiva  146
joegreat  126
sfx2000  124
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  36180
Old Shellshock...  23762
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  19840
Old Does...  12396
Old T-Mobile...  9974
Old Most stable...  7185
Old RT-AC87R (U)...  6205
Old RT-N66U...  6190
Old Can't trust...  4035
Old New...  3129
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  173
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  89
Old Does...  72
Old Antenna...  62
Old T-Mobile...  61
Old RT-AC87R (U)...  42
Old Most stable...  37
Old Simple NAS...  37
Old USB N...  37
Old Range: G vs...  31


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.