SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > NAS > General NAS Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-30-2012, 03:15 PM
ap-alexander ap-alexander is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ap-alexander is just starting out
Default Old computer as a Network Server

Hi there, I have recently upgraded my main desktop and want to built my old computer into a network server. I have most of what I need, but I need help in completing it.

Here's the information about my what I currently have:
Old computer:
An AMD Phenom II with 8GB of RAM, 40GB Intel SSD. It's built in an Antec 300 case with a 560W PSU and an Nvidia 9600GSO GPU. At the moment it's running Linux. (Ubuntu 12.10)

Uses: (what I want the system to do)
Pretty standard, really. I will use the server as main storage for media and documents, and will be streaming via ethernet to my TV via PS3. I would also love to be able to stream wirelessly to iOS devices and Apple TV. (I'm using the Apple TV to stream audio upstairs)

Network hardware:
This is a work in progress. I have a typical modem/router (Linksys dual band) setup. However, I have a 24 port patch panel (not installed) and have my eye on a 16-port unmanged gigabit switch to finish the build. I have network drops in the office, theater room, and one upstairs.

What I want to know is, instead of getting the 16-port switch, can I easily (and relatively in-expensively) turn my old computer into a network switch? What do I need to buy? I will be getting a couple Western Digital Red 3TB drives, but as far as ethernet connectivity do I just get several network cards and install them? What software to I need to get it all up and running?

Thanks in advance.

Andrew
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-30-2012, 03:57 PM
thiggins's Avatar
thiggins thiggins is offline
Mr. Easy
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 9,182
Thanks: 165
Thanked 628 Times in 533 Posts
thiggins is just starting out
Default

Buy the switch. You don't want your computer acting as a switch or even a router if you plan on using it as a NAS,
__________________
Tim Higgins
Managing Editor,SmallNetBuilder.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-30-2012, 05:55 PM
jdabbs's Avatar
jdabbs jdabbs is online now
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: al.us
Posts: 627
Thanks: 0
Thanked 27 Times in 25 Posts
jdabbs is just starting out
Default

The switch would cost less.
__________________
"No battle plan survives contact with the enemy." - Field Marshal von Moltke
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
network, server, switch

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:30 AM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  363
john9527  150
azazel1024  129
stevech  114
htismaqe  105
sfx2000  78
L&LD  76
TonyH  68
AndreyPopov  53
ColinTaylor  52
RMerlin  6024
john9527  377
stevech  350
ryzhov_al  279
TeHashX  233
L&LD  232
RogerSC  199
sinshiva  147
sfx2000  133
joegreat  126
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Shellshock...  27635
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  14415
Old Brainstorming...  2302
Old Looking for...  2082
Old RT-AC68P  2058
Old Advice on...  1915
Old RT-AC68U...  1476
Old Asus...  1454
Old Issues...  1376
Old AC-68...  1322
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  117
Old Advice on...  48
Old Brainstorming...  47
Old Looking for...  35
Old Shellshock...  31
Old Issues...  25
Old Stable...  25
Old WiFi Rates  23
Old RT-AC68U...  22
Old Belkin Pre-N...  21


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.