SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > LAN & WAN > Switches, NICs and cabling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-28-2013, 11:14 PM
tgoodie tgoodie is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 9
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
tgoodie is just starting out
Default Basic Switch Installation Question

Hi...

I am unable to get Internet thru my newly installed unmanaged gigabit switch (TP-Link TL-SG1005).

Previously...

I had a Bell 2-Wire 2701 modem/wireless router supplying the Internet.
I had an Asus RT-N66U as my gigabit wireless router hardwired to the Bell modem.
I disabled the router and wireless portions of the Bell modem/router.

At this point, I have NO PROBLEMS getting wireless signal to my laptop for Internet. I also have no problem with another computer hardwired to the Asus router. I also have no problem with a network printer hardwired to the Asus router.

Today, I ran 50 feet of Cat6 Ethernet cable to a TP-Link TL-Sg1005 located by my entertainment center. I connected one end directly to a LAN port of the Asus router and the other end to one of the 5 ports of the switch. I then used my laptop to test for Internet by hardwiring to the switch. I disabled my wireless connection figuring that my direct connection to the switch would work. I got no Internet.

I was hoping to connect my other devices by hardwiring them from the switch as well (receiver, xBox, etc) but if I can't get Internet with my laptop, why should I get Internet thru the other devices? (rhetorical)

Are there some settings that need to be done in the Asus router?
If there are settings to be done in the switch, how would I get in anyway? Isn't an unmanaged switch just supposed to pass the signal without a bunch of hoopla?

Totally lost and stuck. I must be missing something here...

HELP

Last edited by tgoodie; 01-28-2013 at 11:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-28-2013, 11:35 PM
stevech stevech is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 4,933
Thanks: 1
Thanked 354 Times in 341 Posts
stevech is just starting out
Default

An ethernet switch is "invisible" to the router, in practical terms. No need to adjust the router.

in the switch port connected on to the router: are the "link lights" on the switch on when the cat5 cable is inserted?

Same question, but for the switch port into which the PC's ethernet cable is connected?

Switching the PC from WiFi to ethernet wired: Some Microsoft OSes will give priority to Ethernet over WiFi. If you turn the laptop's WiFi enable hardware switch to OFF, confirm the switch port lights are on, then you have a "layer 2" connection. Now we check layer 3 (TCP/IP). Make sure the ethernet in your laptop is not disabled in device manager.

Now open a command window. type
ipconfig /all
and confirm that your laptop (which is in DHCP mode for the ethernet, we assume, as that's the default) - does get a DHCP assigned IP address via the switch, back to the router. That IP should be in your home LAN's range, not 169.x.x.x. Such as 192.168.x.x.

So let us know about these.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stevech For This Useful Post:
  #3  
Old 01-29-2013, 10:24 AM
tgoodie tgoodie is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 9
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
tgoodie is just starting out
Default Problem solved

Apparently, my laptop was not even configured for a local area network. I ran Windows "Diagnose Problem" and it managed to fix itself and I now have Internet. However, I did not do this while going thru the switch; I just used the cat6 cable DIRECT to the laptop to ensure that it was not the cable's fault. Next I will attach it to the switch. I might as well do it now.........ok, it works too.

Thanks for making me look elsewhere!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gigabit, switch setup

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:03 PM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  399
L&LD  123
azazel1024  118
john9527  97
htismaqe  89
stevech  84
ColinTaylor  76
hggomes  54
sfx2000  52
Anzaia  45
RMerlin  6303
john9527  464
stevech  353
ryzhov_al  290
TeHashX  254
L&LD  245
RogerSC  204
sinshiva  146
sfx2000  136
joegreat  127
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  59817
Old RT-AC68 -...  25970
Old Moderate Nat...  5594
Old ASUS RT-N66U...  5258
Old iOS 8.1...  4311
Old RT-AC87U -...  2917
Old New AC68...  2916
Old RT-AC68P QOS...  2381
Old AC68U,...  2231
Old Ruckus...  2000
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  256
Old RT-AC68 -...  141
Old Moderate Nat...  34
Old iOS 8.1...  33
Old RT-AC87U -...  26
Old How to flash...  24
Old RT-AC68P QOS...  24
Old Linksys...  21
Old Help Plz:...  21
Old NAS...  20


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.