SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > Wireless Buying Advice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-14-2012, 06:05 PM
Montu Montu is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Montu is just starting out
Default What to do....

I currently have an Asus RT56u, it has served me well

the only thing I never liked is how weak the 5ghz range is on this router..but it hasn't really been an issue for me until now.

I have added 3 Wifi security cams..and while I know I could just wire them...lets just assume I never will wire these.

now with the 3 wifi cams the 2.4ghz band is bogged down..I have a 50Mbit connection and If i connect to the 2.4ghz the best i can get is ~20Mbit. So I've set the laptop's to use the 5ghz band and that works great. But the signal is not the strongest in some area's of the house. For instance I have a wireless bridge setup and the 5ghz is way to weak for that to use it..Also the weaker receivers on our mobile phones can't stay connected to the 5ghz band.

So I'm trying to weigh some options here is what I'm thinking ..let me know if I'm over looking an option.

Option 1 - Upgrade to an N66U keep the cams on 2.4ghz (all they support anyway) and hopefully have enough 5ghz range to have the laptops phones and bridge on 5ghz (bridge has tv,blu ray,direct tv and denon receiver connected to it)

Option 2 - Buy a Dedicated 2.4ghz Bridge just for the Cams..this would allow me to keep using 2.4ghz and not really use the 5ghz band. The problem I see with this is that it would make the air waves even more congested than they already are.

thoughts?

Also I've noticed after adding more cams I get a missing frame or two every now and then ..this sets off the motion triggers..I'm hoping whatever I do will help this as well.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-15-2012, 01:33 PM
Montu Montu is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Montu is just starting out
Default

no one?

how about this...is the 66u's 5ghz range significantly better than the 56u?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-15-2012, 10:02 PM
sfx2000 sfx2000 is online now
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 726
Thanks: 7
Thanked 65 Times in 61 Posts
sfx2000 is just starting out
Default

Install a second dedicated AP for the Security Cam's with their own SSID and channel outside of your primary data network.

problem solved.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:56 PM.

Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  402
stevech  155
thelonelycode...  152
L&LD  126
azazel1024  119
KGB7  86
jim769  76
DrTeeth  69
Adamm  66
speedingcheet...  64
RMerlin  4486
stevech  275
ryzhov_al  199
TeHashX  194
RogerSC  166
L&LD  163
joegreat  105
jlake  102
PrivateJoker  93
sinshiva  88
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  31592
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  22797
Old ASUS...  22459
Old Beta Version...  17497
Old 'Heartbleed'...  14241
Old Linksys...  9290
Old Potential...  7917
Old Asus-Merlin...  7061
Old Groundhog...  6411
Old Linksys...  5537
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  218
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  175
Old Linksys...  142
Old ASUS...  125
Old Beta Version...  112
Old Potential...  98
Old Linksys...  78
Old Groundhog...  49
Old Asus router...  43
Old USB drive...  39



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.