SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > ASUS N Routers & Adapters

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-26-2013, 04:47 PM
brennevin brennevin is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
brennevin is just starting out
Default How to divide a 100 mb internet connection into 4 sub networks of 25 mb each?

Sorry for probably a silly question, but in my building we have a fiber connection which is 100 mb. And we are 4 people who are using it. I would like to use the rt-n66u to split it into 4 connections of 25 mb. And I would like it to be wired and use the 4 ports on the router. The users should not be able to see each other on the network, so it should be 4 completely private networks. Is this possible to do in a fairly easy way?
Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-26-2013, 05:22 PM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 10,090
Thanks: 54
Thanked 5,587 Times in 2,294 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brennevin View Post
Sorry for probably a silly question, but in my building we have a fiber connection which is 100 mb. And we are 4 people who are using it. I would like to use the rt-n66u to split it into 4 connections of 25 mb. And I would like it to be wired and use the 4 ports on the router. The users should not be able to see each other on the network, so it should be 4 completely private networks. Is this possible to do in a fairly easy way?
Thank you.
Probably doable by using Tomato, but definitely not in an easy way. You will have to learn to work with VLANs probably to be able to isolate all four users.
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-27-2013, 01:40 PM
brennevin brennevin is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
brennevin is just starting out
Default

Ok, thanks for the reply.
Would you know if there is a cheap device that does this and is easy to manage? Like a switch of some kind?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-27-2013, 02:01 PM
RMerlin's Avatar
RMerlin RMerlin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 10,090
Thanks: 54
Thanked 5,587 Times in 2,294 Posts
RMerlin is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brennevin View Post
Ok, thanks for the reply.
Would you know if there is a cheap device that does this and is easy to manage? Like a switch of some kind?
Not that I'm aware of. This is a pretty specialized requirement, so I suspect it would be mostly available from business-class devices from the likes of Sonicwall.

Otherwise, pretty sure it can be done with Tomato. Try asking on the Tomato forums at Linksysinfo, there are quite a few QoS/bandwidth control gurus there.
__________________
Asuswrt-Merlin: Customized firmware for Asus routers
Github: github.com/RMerl - Twitter: RMerlinDev
See the sticky post for more info.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-27-2013, 02:27 PM
thiggins's Avatar
thiggins thiggins is offline
Mr. Easy
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 9,008
Thanks: 151
Thanked 589 Times in 500 Posts
thiggins is just starting out
Default

You can do this with a smart/managed switch with VLANs and with ingress/egress port rate limiting. Switch would be linked to a router LAN port and the four networks run to ports on the switch.

Something like this would work: TP-LINK TL-SG2216 Gigabit Smart Switch Reviewed
__________________
Tim Higgins
Managing Editor,SmallNetBuilder.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-04-2013, 01:06 AM
gluon gluon is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
gluon is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brennevin View Post
Ok, thanks for the reply.
Would you know if there is a cheap device that does this and is easy to manage? Like a switch of some kind?
I would suggest this mikrotik be sufficient enough for your case.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:15 PM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  417
stevech  140
KGB7  128
azazel1024  126
sinshiva  101
sfx2000  94
Kel-L  93
hggomes  85
fistv  79
john9527  65
RMerlin  5586
stevech  328
ryzhov_al  265
TeHashX  217
RogerSC  189
L&LD  189
sinshiva  143
joegreat  127
jlake  122
sfx2000  120
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  76538
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  38570
Old [Fork]...  15762
Old Asus locking...  9877
Old ASUS...  7840
Old Incoming...  7709
Old [Fork]...  4281
Old Share What...  3524
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  2856
Old Best version...  2283
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  393
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  186
Old Asus locking...  125
Old [Fork]...  117
Old [HOW TO]...  50
Old ASUS...  49
Old Connection...  48
Old Incoming...  44
Old [Fork]...  41
Old 376.44 -...  40


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.