SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > Wireless Buying Advice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-12-2012, 01:23 AM
Bearxor Bearxor is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Bearxor is just starting out
Default Wireless that wont lock up?

Warning! Wall of text!

So here's the deal. I had been using a WNDR-3700 since they were new and hated it from the start. The wireless range was good, but not quite good enough to work on the opposite side of the house. The routing was OK, but not being able to do Port Redirection was always a sticking point with me. I adapted and moved things to where they could all be accessible on different ports, but Netgears decision to withhold this really basic feature my WRT54G v2 had to their "non-consumer" routers really irks me and so I've kind of sworn off buying Netgear in the future.

But finally, my 3700 died and so it's time to move on to a new router.

Over the past month, I've used a n65r, n66r, EA3500 and EA4500. Not a huge DLink fan either so haven't really paid attention to their offerings and the last Belkin I used didn't support NAT Loopback so they're out.

But the one thing from each of the routers I've tried out is that they lock up on me after some usage. Sometimes a couple of days, sometimes a week.

What I eventually settled on is using an Atom Ubuntu box as a router and grabbing a n66r, putting it in my bedroom, which is more central in the house, and using it as an AP only. That was about two weeks ago.

Everything was working well, and I was pretty happy, but today my Internet slowed to a crawl. Pulled up speed test on the iPad and was only hitting about 1.5Mbps on a 50Mbit connection.

I reset the Ubuntu box. It still persisted. I called my ISP, they weren't experiencing any problems. I fired up my ancient HTPC that I hadn't used since I'd given up on MCE, and it hit about 30Mbps on a speed test.

Logged in to the n66r on my network, reboot it, and a minute later everything was humming along fine.

See, I had always thought I was choking the router part of the boxes. That maybe if I just used them as WAP's, everything would be fine. That is apparently not the case. I must be overwhelming the CPU with connections.

Just about everything in my house is wireless. We will always have, at a minimum, 9 devices connected by wireless, and that's if nobody is doing anything. If people start turning laptops on instead of using their iPads, the number is going to go up. In need to at least be able to constantly connect up to 19 wireless devices at one time on a mix of
2.4 and 5ghz. If something supports 5ghz, it's on that band. I've also set the channel width for my network at 20mhz. I don't need the extra speed for most devices in the house.

So I know I've kind of gone on and rambled for a bit, but I've really reached the end of my patience dealing with this stuff. All I want is a router that I can put in to AP mode and forget about it. Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-12-2012, 09:58 AM
tipstir tipstir is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,627
Thanks: 0
Thanked 35 Times in 35 Posts
tipstir is just starting out
Send a message via AIM to tipstir Send a message via Yahoo to tipstir Send a message via Skype™ to tipstir
Default

We all face this issue. SOHO Wireless Routers on the market just not made for handle so many wireless connections before it starts to choke or goes duff!

SMB Wireless Router can handle more connections and take on more heavy load since their designed for that purpose. Have you looked into business network gear?

Or change your setup and run Wired Router then use Wireless AP to manage your Wireless Clients. Instead of just using an all-in-one Router to manage it all.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-12-2012, 10:13 AM
claykin claykin is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 981
Thanks: 4
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
claykin is just starting out
Default

Check wireless drivers on ALL clients. Update as necessary. I've resolved several troubled wireless environments this way.

I feel your pain regarding the WNDR3700. I have several 3700V2 units and they all work perfectly when run only in AP mode. Router mode would require reboots every so often so I ended up either connecting to a timer or loading Gargoyle firmware and setting to reboot nightly. That helped a bit.

Asus N66U and AC66U have been going through a lot of firmware updates. I assume you've been watching the Asus pages on this forum and also looking at Merlin's custom firmware?

To be honest the only consumer wifi router I've had very good reliability with is the Apple Airport Extreme. They are not feature rich and wifi range/speed is a bit behind others, but their firmware is well written.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-13-2012, 01:11 PM
tipstir tipstir is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,627
Thanks: 0
Thanked 35 Times in 35 Posts
tipstir is just starting out
Send a message via AIM to tipstir Send a message via Yahoo to tipstir Send a message via Skype™ to tipstir
Default

WiFi has it moments some days are better than others. Until they have it working 100% right we have to put up with some glitches.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-14-2012, 05:52 AM
cata02 cata02 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
cata02 is just starting out
Default Mikrotik

Look for mikrotik devices. professional cheap and powerfull.

www.routerboard.com
www.mikrotik.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-18-2012, 12:04 AM
Bearxor Bearxor is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Bearxor is just starting out
Default

Hey y'all. Thanks for the input.

Unfortunately, for the driver suggestion, the vast majority of devices in my network are appliances, not computers, so I can't really update the drivers.

It has locked up on me again though. I was thinking, what do you guys think about the N65? Would having separate processors for the 5 and 2.4 radios help me out?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-18-2012, 02:17 PM
stevech stevech is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 4,840
Thanks: 1
Thanked 350 Times in 338 Posts
stevech is just starting out
Default

is the lock-up fault-isolated to the client device or to the router?
You need to diagnose if it's the end device at fault, e.g., not doing DHCP correctly. If so, you're hosed if they have no fix- other than putting it on a AC power timer to cycle it once a day or some such.

Want high reliability in a router: Don't buy a consumer router like D-Link, Netgear and, sadly, now Linksys.

Get one that's sold into the machine-to-machine market - where things run unattended non-stop. Cradlepoint is one such vendor. There are 3 or so vendors in this space. You won't seem them at Best-buy.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:20 AM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  340
john9527  146
L&LD  127
azazel1024  126
stevech  123
htismaqe  95
sfx2000  75
TonyH  68
ChristineBCW  68
AndreyPopov  57
RMerlin  6002
john9527  372
stevech  349
ryzhov_al  277
TeHashX  232
L&LD  230
RogerSC  199
sinshiva  147
sfx2000  133
joegreat  126
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Shellshock...  27292
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  6312
Old Antenna...  3729
Old Asus...  3370
Old Simple NAS...  2291
Old Brainstorming...  2085
Old Looking for...  1856
Old RT-AC68P  1645
Old New Router:...  1530
Old RT-AC68U...  1258
Old Antenna...  73
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  49
Old Brainstorming...  47
Old Advice on...  40
Old Simple NAS...  36
Old Looking for...  35
Old Shellshock...  31
Old Asus...  29
Old WiFi Rates  23
Old RT-AC68U...  22


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.