SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > NAS > General NAS Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-30-2012, 03:15 PM
ap-alexander ap-alexander is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ap-alexander is just starting out
Default Old computer as a Network Server

Hi there, I have recently upgraded my main desktop and want to built my old computer into a network server. I have most of what I need, but I need help in completing it.

Here's the information about my what I currently have:
Old computer:
An AMD Phenom II with 8GB of RAM, 40GB Intel SSD. It's built in an Antec 300 case with a 560W PSU and an Nvidia 9600GSO GPU. At the moment it's running Linux. (Ubuntu 12.10)

Uses: (what I want the system to do)
Pretty standard, really. I will use the server as main storage for media and documents, and will be streaming via ethernet to my TV via PS3. I would also love to be able to stream wirelessly to iOS devices and Apple TV. (I'm using the Apple TV to stream audio upstairs)

Network hardware:
This is a work in progress. I have a typical modem/router (Linksys dual band) setup. However, I have a 24 port patch panel (not installed) and have my eye on a 16-port unmanged gigabit switch to finish the build. I have network drops in the office, theater room, and one upstairs.

What I want to know is, instead of getting the 16-port switch, can I easily (and relatively in-expensively) turn my old computer into a network switch? What do I need to buy? I will be getting a couple Western Digital Red 3TB drives, but as far as ethernet connectivity do I just get several network cards and install them? What software to I need to get it all up and running?

Thanks in advance.

Andrew
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-30-2012, 03:57 PM
thiggins's Avatar
thiggins thiggins is online now
Mr. Easy
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 9,014
Thanks: 151
Thanked 596 Times in 502 Posts
thiggins is just starting out
Default

Buy the switch. You don't want your computer acting as a switch or even a router if you plan on using it as a NAS,
__________________
Tim Higgins
Managing Editor,SmallNetBuilder.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-30-2012, 05:55 PM
jdabbs's Avatar
jdabbs jdabbs is online now
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: al.us
Posts: 622
Thanks: 0
Thanked 27 Times in 25 Posts
jdabbs is just starting out
Default

The switch would cost less.
__________________
"No battle plan survives contact with the enemy." - Field Marshal von Moltke
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
network, server, switch

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:20 PM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  357
stevech  153
KGB7  119
Kel-L  103
sfx2000  98
azazel1024  98
john9527  81
sinshiva  79
fistv  73
F5ing  68
RMerlin  5603
stevech  329
ryzhov_al  266
TeHashX  217
L&LD  192
RogerSC  190
sinshiva  143
joegreat  127
jlake  122
sfx2000  121
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  78503
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  48183
Old [Fork]...  20848
Old Asus locking...  10423
Old ASUS...  8560
Old Incoming...  8104
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  3467
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  3077
Old Thinking of...  2246
Old 376.44 -...  1809
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  393
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  218
Old [Fork]...  137
Old Asus locking...  125
Old Connection...  55
Old [HOW TO]...  50
Old ASUS...  50
Old Incoming...  44
Old 376.44 -...  40
Old Use the same...  35


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.