SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > ASUS N Routers & Adapters

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-19-2012, 06:59 AM
Anti Anti is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Anti is just starting out
Default Configure RT-N66U for bonjour [solved]

I bought a RT-N66U for my network. The network consists mostly of different models of Apple computers. Most of them connected to to WIFI but some connected with cable. The problem is that bonjour does not seems to work properly.

The ones connected to WIFI can "see" each other but the ones connected through cable can not be seen from one of the wireless computers. Even strager is that if the ones connected through cable is restarted it shows up in the bonjour list. After a while it disappears again.

Any help with this would be much appreciated!
Anti

Last edited by Anti; 06-28-2012 at 04:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-28-2012, 04:20 PM
Anti Anti is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Anti is just starting out
Default

Can't really blame ASUS for not properly configuring the computers. With properly configured DNS on all clients bonjour seems to work.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-28-2012, 08:49 PM
jyavenard jyavenard is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 3 Posts
jyavenard is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anti View Post
Can't really blame ASUS for not properly configuring the computers. With properly configured DNS on all clients bonjour seems to work.
Some confusion here...

Bonjour is Apple's implementation of ZeroConf. It doesn't use DNS to work. You can't configure a DNS to work with Bonjour. That's not how zeroconf works.

Unlike a DNS where there's a central server you ask to resolve a query.
With ZeroConf all clients provide their own server and it uses multicast to know where to query.

As such, with bonjour, a router isn't involved in the discovery process

For more info on how it works:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zerocon...t_DNS.2FDNS-SD
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-29-2012, 06:24 AM
Anti Anti is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Anti is just starting out
Default

There was some confusion indeed..

If you had a faulty dns entry on the client the bonjour did not work properly. As soon as I changed the dns enty to a proper one bonjour is solid as a rock. It seems like it shouldn't be that way but that solved my issue.

Maybe it was the client trying the dns and the wait for a timeout made the preformance suck. Some one with a deeper knowledge of Apple networking than me might be able to explain it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-06-2013, 10:59 PM
mightee mightee is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
mightee is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anti View Post
There was some confusion indeed..

If you had a faulty dns entry on the client the bonjour did not work properly. As soon as I changed the dns enty to a proper one bonjour is solid as a rock. It seems like it shouldn't be that way but that solved my issue.

Maybe it was the client trying the dns and the wait for a timeout made the preformance suck. Some one with a deeper knowledge of Apple networking than me might be able to explain it.
I apologize for sounding like an idiot, but what might make a DNS entry 'faulty' or 'proper'? I'm trying to get Bonjour working on this router and I haven't figured out a solution yet.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-07-2013, 02:51 PM
Anti Anti is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Anti is just starting out
Default

The DNS address that I had configured on the client did not point to a DNS server. When the client tried to resolve the address to an IP-address it probably had to wait for the DNS request to timeout. That probably made the bonjour sluggish. With a client with a properly configured DNS-setting everything worked as expected.

Hopefully this helps!

Anti
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bonjour, rt-n66u

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:24 AM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  299
sm00thpapa  235
stevech  184
azazel1024  141
KGB7  122
htismaqe  93
philmiami  76
jim769  69
AcostaJA  61
ColinTaylor  60
RMerlin  5059
stevech  314
ryzhov_al  246
TeHashX  209
RogerSC  187
L&LD  186
joegreat  123
jlake  121
sinshiva  111
sfx2000  111
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old ASUS RT-N66U...  22775
Old NETGEAR...  12563
Old 3.0.0.4.376.1...  6627
Old Switched...  6110
Old NEW RT-AC68R...  5419
Old ASUS...  5377
Old ASUS RTAC68U...  3353
Old Netgear...  3050
Old N66U daily...  2769
Old AC68U AND...  2759
Old ASUS RT-N66U...  169
Old NETGEAR...  161
Old NEW RT-AC68R...  54
Old Switched...  52
Old ASUS...  50
Old N66U daily...  47
Old Which router...  41
Old Netgear...  41
Old ASUS RTAC68U...  41
Old TP-Link...  38


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.