SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > Wireless Buying Advice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-02-2013, 07:35 PM
Cail Cail is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Cail is just starting out
Default Dedicated Bridge vs. Router in bride mode

So, I'm looking for a wireless bridge for some devices across the house from my main internet hookup.

Is there any benefit to using a dedicated bridge like the WET610n over a router in bridge mode such as the Asus RT-N16?

There are a whole host of options for what I could do:
1. Keep my current Asus RT-N16 router and add the WET610n
2. Keep my current router and add a second RT-N16 for bridge mode
3. Retire my RT-N16 to bridge mode and add an RT-N66u as router

Do any of these have any distinct benefits over the others?

The dual-band option is only really beneficial for future-proofness as my only devices with 5 Ghz are a phone and a tablet which likely won't see much real benefit. With AC coming along I'm not sure if the 5 Ghz router is really that big of a deal as I will likely upgrade everything in the next few years.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-03-2013, 01:49 AM
stevech stevech is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 4,777
Thanks: 1
Thanked 345 Times in 333 Posts
stevech is just starting out
Default

I did a quick read of the RT-N16 user manual - didn't see a client bridge mode option.

Maybe you plan to load DD-WRT on it (if that's do-able).

I'd say that a WIFi router with a client bridge mode (rare beast) is fine if it has about the same price as a client-bridge product. The latter may be easier to administer.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stevech For This Useful Post:
  #3  
Old 02-05-2013, 07:45 AM
Shikami Shikami is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 277
Thanks: 3
Thanked 36 Times in 32 Posts
Shikami is just starting out
Default

With my temporary setup, I am bridged from a RT-N56U with Padavan's firmware to a RT-N66U with Merlin's firmware which is connected into an Actiontec router for FiOS. All, is good and even played some Battlefield with latencies that were not too bad.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Shikami For This Useful Post:
  #4  
Old 02-07-2013, 09:56 PM
sfx2000 sfx2000 is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,147
Thanks: 14
Thanked 124 Times in 113 Posts
sfx2000 is just starting out
Default

as long as it's in the factory firmware you should be fine - QA approved...

Third party firmware, you're on your own.

I can't recommend the WET610N - it has issues for general bridging, as it is more intended as a media streamer...

You can always look at Buffalo Tech - their bridges are fairly solid, if obtuse to setup... their WLI-TX4-AG300N tends to "just work" once set up...
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sfx2000 For This Useful Post:
  #5  
Old 02-08-2013, 02:31 AM
stevech stevech is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 4,777
Thanks: 1
Thanked 345 Times in 333 Posts
stevech is just starting out
Default

I had a Buffalo 11g bridge with built-in 4 port switch running 24/7 for a year, including streaming non-HD video. I arranged this to get really good strong signals. No problems.

Buffalo was really hurt by the frivolous lawsuit by an Australian University that cost Buffalo the No. American market for 2 years or so of senseless litigation by the fools at the University. That ended several years ago.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-14-2013, 08:39 PM
Cail Cail is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Cail is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevech View Post
I did a quick read of the RT-N16 user manual - didn't see a client bridge mode option.

Maybe you plan to load DD-WRT on it (if that's do-able).

I'd say that a WIFi router with a client bridge mode (rare beast) is fine if it has about the same price as a client-bridge product. The latter may be easier to administer.
Sorry, should have been more clear. It's running Tomato shibby due to some things I need my network to do that aren't generally supported with stock firmwares. If I do the rt-n66u I will likely put custom firmware on it as well.

I'll also look into the Buffalo bridges.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:52 PM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  359
L&LD  169
azazel1024  150
stevech  130
john9527  120
ChristineBCW  111
hggomes  84
dirtyclyde  64
TonyH  62
AndreyPopov  52
RMerlin  5882
stevech  344
john9527  300
ryzhov_al  274
TeHashX  230
L&LD  223
RogerSC  195
sinshiva  146
joegreat  126
sfx2000  124
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  32052
Old Shellshock...  22835
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  19517
Old Does...  11113
Old T-Mobile...  9101
Old Most stable...  7018
Old RT-AC87R (U)...  5999
Old RT-N66U...  5848
Old Can't trust...  3853
Old New...  2971
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  159
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  89
Old Does...  69
Old Antenna...  62
Old T-Mobile...  55
Old RT-AC87R (U)...  42
Old Most stable...  37
Old USB N...  37
Old Simple NAS...  35
Old Shellshock...  31


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.