SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > Wireless Buying Advice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-02-2013, 07:35 PM
Cail Cail is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Cail is just starting out
Default Dedicated Bridge vs. Router in bride mode

So, I'm looking for a wireless bridge for some devices across the house from my main internet hookup.

Is there any benefit to using a dedicated bridge like the WET610n over a router in bridge mode such as the Asus RT-N16?

There are a whole host of options for what I could do:
1. Keep my current Asus RT-N16 router and add the WET610n
2. Keep my current router and add a second RT-N16 for bridge mode
3. Retire my RT-N16 to bridge mode and add an RT-N66u as router

Do any of these have any distinct benefits over the others?

The dual-band option is only really beneficial for future-proofness as my only devices with 5 Ghz are a phone and a tablet which likely won't see much real benefit. With AC coming along I'm not sure if the 5 Ghz router is really that big of a deal as I will likely upgrade everything in the next few years.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-03-2013, 01:49 AM
stevech stevech is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 4,622
Thanks: 1
Thanked 329 Times in 317 Posts
stevech is just starting out
Default

I did a quick read of the RT-N16 user manual - didn't see a client bridge mode option.

Maybe you plan to load DD-WRT on it (if that's do-able).

I'd say that a WIFi router with a client bridge mode (rare beast) is fine if it has about the same price as a client-bridge product. The latter may be easier to administer.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stevech For This Useful Post:
  #3  
Old 02-05-2013, 07:45 AM
Shikami Shikami is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 267
Thanks: 3
Thanked 33 Times in 29 Posts
Shikami is just starting out
Default

With my temporary setup, I am bridged from a RT-N56U with Padavan's firmware to a RT-N66U with Merlin's firmware which is connected into an Actiontec router for FiOS. All, is good and even played some Battlefield with latencies that were not too bad.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Shikami For This Useful Post:
  #4  
Old 02-07-2013, 09:56 PM
sfx2000 sfx2000 is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,098
Thanks: 14
Thanked 120 Times in 109 Posts
sfx2000 is just starting out
Default

as long as it's in the factory firmware you should be fine - QA approved...

Third party firmware, you're on your own.

I can't recommend the WET610N - it has issues for general bridging, as it is more intended as a media streamer...

You can always look at Buffalo Tech - their bridges are fairly solid, if obtuse to setup... their WLI-TX4-AG300N tends to "just work" once set up...
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sfx2000 For This Useful Post:
  #5  
Old 02-08-2013, 02:31 AM
stevech stevech is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 4,622
Thanks: 1
Thanked 329 Times in 317 Posts
stevech is just starting out
Default

I had a Buffalo 11g bridge with built-in 4 port switch running 24/7 for a year, including streaming non-HD video. I arranged this to get really good strong signals. No problems.

Buffalo was really hurt by the frivolous lawsuit by an Australian University that cost Buffalo the No. American market for 2 years or so of senseless litigation by the fools at the University. That ended several years ago.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-14-2013, 08:39 PM
Cail Cail is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Cail is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevech View Post
I did a quick read of the RT-N16 user manual - didn't see a client bridge mode option.

Maybe you plan to load DD-WRT on it (if that's do-able).

I'd say that a WIFi router with a client bridge mode (rare beast) is fine if it has about the same price as a client-bridge product. The latter may be easier to administer.
Sorry, should have been more clear. It's running Tomato shibby due to some things I need my network to do that aren't generally supported with stock firmwares. If I do the rt-n66u I will likely put custom firmware on it as well.

I'll also look into the Buffalo bridges.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:01 AM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  413
stevech  139
azazel1024  126
KGB7  123
sinshiva  98
sfx2000  94
Kel-L  93
hggomes  85
fistv  79
john9527  68
RMerlin  5586
stevech  328
ryzhov_al  265
TeHashX  217
RogerSC  189
L&LD  189
sinshiva  143
joegreat  127
jlake  122
sfx2000  120
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  76669
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  39145
Old [Fork]...  16097
Old Asus locking...  9905
Old ASUS...  7883
Old Incoming...  7735
Old [Fork]...  4349
Old Share What...  3556
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  2877
Old Best version...  2296
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  393
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  186
Old Asus locking...  125
Old [Fork]...  122
Old Connection...  51
Old [HOW TO]...  50
Old ASUS...  49
Old Incoming...  44
Old [Fork]...  42
Old 376.44 -...  40


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.