SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > LAN & WAN > Switches, NICs and cabling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-02-2013, 09:33 AM
Network-Chris Network-Chris is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Network-Chris is just starting out
Default 10 mb/s on a gigabit network? Why?

Hi there,

I just registered here because I thought you guys might have the answer to my question.

I use a Linksys WRT54GL wifi router at home.
Since a few weeks I have a NAS (Synology DS412+).
I realized that the router has problems with the big data traffic.
Since other users of this router has similar experience I decided to buy a TP Link Gigabit switch: TLSG1005D to put between the wifi router and my laptop. So I connected my laptop and the NAS to the Gigabit switch but the transfer rate is still 10 mb/s only. Any idea what could be the reason?
The MacBookPro that I am using has a gigabit ethernet card of course.

Thanks in advance to everyone who spends his/her valuable time to answer my question!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-02-2013, 10:56 AM
kanewolf kanewolf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 63
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
kanewolf is just starting out
Default

Bad ethernet cable is the first, most obvious, culprit.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-02-2013, 12:30 PM
stevech stevech is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 4,731
Thanks: 1
Thanked 341 Times in 329 Posts
stevech is just starting out
Default

My retired WRT54G lacked the CPU speed to handle the 15Mbps speed of my cable modem downstream.
your "10 mbps" means Mbits/sec, right?

Data moving within your LAN (PC to/from NAS), we presume this flows through your gigabit ethernet switch.

Does the PC and switch LEDs show that the ethernet link is using gigabit? Color of LEDs indicates.

Last edited by stevech; 02-02-2013 at 12:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-04-2013, 12:03 PM
Turick Turick is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Turick is just starting out
Default

Could the laptops nic be set to 10/full? Or possibly even auto and it's not auto sensing properly? Maybe you can manually set the interfaces on both the nas and the laptop to 1000.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-04-2013, 01:58 PM
tipstir tipstir is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,628
Thanks: 0
Thanked 35 Times in 35 Posts
tipstir is just starting out
Send a message via AIM to tipstir Send a message via Yahoo to tipstir Send a message via Skype™ to tipstir
Default

Laptops NIC can be set to anything as long as the wired NIC supports the speeds you want. But you must remember that unmanaged switches are set to auto on the ports. The can sense what speed is required to be push through them to the the network device connected to them by port. So best to use auto. You could try forcing the port on the laptop to 10mbps Full Duplex.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-04-2013, 09:31 PM
Turick Turick is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Turick is just starting out
Default

Do you mean forcing the port to 1000mbps/full? I've seen tons of problems in the past with hardware not auto negotiating correctly. Lots of emphasis on the past, so I don't know if modern hardware has eliminated those issues, but if he's only seeing 10mbps speeds and has solid cat5e or cat6 cables to a gige switch, my first step would be to force the nics to 1000/full.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-04-2013, 10:32 PM
stevech stevech is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 4,731
Thanks: 1
Thanked 341 Times in 329 Posts
stevech is just starting out
Default

I've not had auto-negotiate for speeds fail, despite my sizeable assortment of gear over the years. Even the cheap store-brand from Frys gigE switches.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-12-2013, 10:20 AM
Network-Chris Network-Chris is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Network-Chris is just starting out
Default Update

Sorry for my late reply. I wasn't at home for a couple of days.

The thing is if I connect the NAS directly to my laptop I get a speed around 30 Megabyte per Second. That is ok for me. But if the router or switch is in between I only get 10 Megabyte/second. I bought LAN cables that have the best rating on amazon. I will try again with other LAN cables and see what will happen. Unfortunately there are no LEDs on my Macbook or switch that indicates the connection speed.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-15-2013, 04:32 PM
CBRworm CBRworm is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 7
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
CBRworm is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Network-Chris View Post
Sorry for my late reply. I wasn't at home for a couple of days.

The thing is if I connect the NAS directly to my laptop I get a speed around 30 Megabyte per Second. That is ok for me. But if the router or switch is in between I only get 10 Megabyte/second. I bought LAN cables that have the best rating on amazon. I will try again with other LAN cables and see what will happen. Unfortunately there are no LEDs on my Macbook or switch that indicates the connection speed.
When you connect the NAS directly to your laptop, is it through a crossover cable or via USB connection?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-16-2013, 03:12 PM
ubuntero ubuntero is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ubuntero is just starting out
Default

Try to enable "flow control" function in your Gbit TP-link (if there is one there). I`ve got the same issue when tried to connect my Cisco Gbit cable modem to Draytek Web Smart G1240 Gbit switch ..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gigabit switch, linksys wrt54gl, nas, speed problem, tp-link tlsg1005d

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:25 PM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  352
stevech  135
L&LD  129
azazel1024  128
john9527  124
hggomes  84
ChristineBCW  79
noric  76
AndreyPopov  61
Trip  56
RMerlin  5840
stevech  340
john9527  285
ryzhov_al  272
TeHashX  229
L&LD  218
RogerSC  195
sinshiva  146
joegreat  126
sfx2000  124
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  18089
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  13395
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  13387
Old My...  6118
Old Most stable...  5348
Old RT-AC87R (U)...  4563
Old T-Mobile...  4476
Old RT-N66U...  3666
Old Does...  3398
Old Can't trust...  3137
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  122
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  88
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  84
Old My...  57
Old T-Mobile...  41
Old RT-AC87R (U)...  39
Old USB N...  37
Old Most stable...  30
Old Range: G vs...  29
Old New...  28


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.