SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > ASUS N Routers & Adapters

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-02-2012, 09:56 PM
Mekks Mekks is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mekks is just starting out
Default ASUS RTN66U Range Help (Please).

I just replaced my WRT54GL (Tomato.RAF) with an ASUS RTN66U.

The reason I decided to upgrade was to extend the WiFi range, I am trying to reach threw two brick walls (100-125FT about 5 Apt's away).

Just outside the building at that range I get 2 bars on my iPhone, inside WiFi drops off.

This is on the 2.4Ghz (20mhz) band running 108 FW.

Can anyone advise how to extend the range? Really want to help my brother out and get his 360 online so we can game.

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-03-2012, 01:11 AM
NightOwl326 NightOwl326 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 175
Thanks: 7
Thanked 22 Times in 18 Posts
NightOwl326 is just starting out
Default

Have him call an ISP and purchase service and you will be gaming in no time.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-03-2012, 03:05 AM
Revenent Revenent is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Revenent is just starting out
Default

Maybe two APs with a tightly bound directional antenna?

Basically use the APs as a fixed position wireless "cable". Not sure what AP/antenna combination you can buy.

Not going to be cheap though. It's probably specialized equipment at this point.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-03-2012, 11:10 PM
Daybreak Daybreak is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: va
Posts: 116
Thanks: 16
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Daybreak is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revenent View Post
Maybe two APs with a tightly bound directional antenna?

Basically use the APs as a fixed position wireless "cable". Not sure what AP/antenna combination you can buy.

Not going to be cheap though. It's probably specialized equipment at this point.
Howdy,
you could very easily do that with 2 engenius eoc2611p units. They are priced nicely and will cost total around $140usd
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-04-2012, 12:24 PM
thiggins's Avatar
thiggins thiggins is offline
Mr. Easy
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 9,352
Thanks: 173
Thanked 683 Times in 569 Posts
thiggins is just starting out
Default

There is no solution for going through multiple brick walls.
If your windows are on the same side of the building and you have line of sight between them, you could use two outdoor bridges as Daybreak suggested.
__________________
Tim Higgins
Managing Editor,SmallNetBuilder.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:22 AM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  543
john9527  188
huotg01  168
System Error...  165
stevech  149
L&LD  140
jegesq  129
hggomes  97
azazel1024  92
RussellInCinc...  68
RMerlin  6928
john9527  658
stevech  374
ryzhov_al  311
L&LD  275
TeHashX  271
RogerSC  210
hggomes  172
sinshiva  156
sfx2000  145
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  36751
Old SECURITY:...  18548
Old ASUS...  10754
Old ASUS...  7857
Old ASUS...  6929
Old choose a new...  3362
Old Asus...  2637
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  2514
Old Bulding...  2303
Old Horrible...  2118
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  320
Old Asus...  82
Old SECURITY:...  74
Old choose a new...  73
Old ASUS...  59
Old What is dual...  44
Old ASUS...  43
Old Can you help...  40
Old Using a UPS...  30
Old Equipment...  29


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2015 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.