SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > NAS > NAS Article Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #71  
Old 04-14-2012, 01:34 PM
Unregistered
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Crashed my vm

My vm machine also crashed. I've set up everything with your package (thx for that!!), but created a bigger disk. so far so good, everything worked fine. but then suddenly the message "cpu not responding for 61 seconds" message in the virtual machine appeared.
then -obviously- TM stopped with the message "cannot connect to disk"

Now I'm running al this on a brand new APU setup so maybe the cpu is to weak?
I never meant to run a vm on it but I had to try this! just wished apple didn't make it so hard.

I've rebooted the VM and TM is running again. (8gb backed up from 240gb so far)

Maybe there is a way to automatically reboot the VM when it's not responding?
Also you have been running this for a while I assume - did you have any troubles? I mean a backup system has to be reliable, it just feels weird to use a virtual disk that's all

Gompje
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 04-15-2012, 05:29 AM
Gompje Gompje is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Gompje is just starting out
Smile update last post

Just a post to say that the backup was successful
Long .. but it worked.

I also remembered that when I first backuped my dad's macbook on his mac mini with osx server (no special setup needed ) it also took almost 10 hours - which is the same. maybe there is something build in TM that it is slower over the network so it does not - mm how do you say that in english - block your network bandwidth ?

Gompje.
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 04-24-2012, 02:38 AM
ozum ozum is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ozum is just starting out
Default

Great article. I need some advice.
I installed virtual machine. I can ping from and ping to virtual machine successfully. I use OS X 10.7.3 However when I try to connect from time machine I get a message:

There was a problem connecting to the server “MyTimeCapsule.local”. The server may not exist or it is unavailable at this time. Check the server name or IP address, check your network connection, and try again.

When I try to connect via Finder by pushing “Connect As…” button I get a similar message:

There was a problem connecting to the server “MyTimeCapsule”. The server may not exist or it is unavailable at this time. Check the server name or IP address, check your network connection, and try again.

I can connect the host windows machine from OS X, so it seems that there isn’t a network problem.

Any suggestion?
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 04-24-2012, 04:29 AM
kevinherring kevinherring is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
kevinherring is just starting out
Default

Hi Ozum

It is strange that ".local" is appended to the end of MyTimeCapsule.

In finder, can you try connecting with afp using the IP address instead of the name?

Kevin
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 04-24-2012, 10:34 AM
ozum ozum is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ozum is just starting out
Default

Hi Kevin,

When I try to Go->Connect to Server and try to connect 192.168.1.100 (local IP of vm) it asks username/pass. It does not accept default password (root/tmroot). However I can login with default user and password via virtual machine's console without a problem.
Reply With Quote
  #76  
Old 04-24-2012, 12:02 PM
kevinherring kevinherring is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
kevinherring is just starting out
Default

Did you try tmuser/tmuser in Go->Connect to Server?
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kevinherring For This Useful Post:
  #77  
Old 04-24-2012, 12:16 PM
ozum ozum is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ozum is just starting out
Default

Thanks Kevin, tmuser/tmuser connects in Go->Connect to Server. After this successful connection, Time Machine asks for password for the first time and it connects as well.

I'm very new to Mac. Maybe these steps are obvious for others . I didn't see tmuser/tmuser anywhere. Can you please add tmuser and Go->Connect to Server steps into the article as a note for others like me

Some more info to be sure about I'm doing everything right. (Attached screenshot)

* In time machine, I can not connect auto found MyTimeCapsule on "MyTimeCapsule".

* In time machine, I can connect MyTimeCapsule on "192.168.1.100". I mounted this in Go->Connect to Server step.

* In Go->Connect to Server, When I try to connect with name instead of local IP, server can not be found.

My questions:

* Are those symptoms expected behaviour?
* Do I have to mount MyTimeCapsule prior to use in Time machine? Otherwise I cannot connect as described.
* How can I change root and tmuser passwords?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg x.jpg (59.3 KB, 1 views)

Last edited by ozum; 04-24-2012 at 12:52 PM. Reason: Addition
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 04-24-2012, 02:02 PM
kevinherring kevinherring is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
kevinherring is just starting out
Default

Hi Ozum, I will get Tim to add the tmuser/tmuser more clearly in the first article.

However, that said, you should not need to use Go-->Connect (ever) and I don't know why it isn't working for you... Installing Avahi should mean that you can see and then connect to the time capsule seamlessly.

Without sitting in front of it, it's very difficult to diagnose :-(

To change the passwords you will need to log into the VM within VirtualBox as root and then use the passwd command.
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 04-25-2012, 03:10 AM
ozum ozum is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ozum is just starting out
Default

Do you have any suggestion to me look randomly or poke in for this situation. I have two systems (one fresh installed Mac Book Pro and one messed a lot hackintosh just for learning). Both have same symptoms.

Last edited by ozum; 04-25-2012 at 03:11 AM. Reason: Additional info
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 04-25-2012, 08:21 AM
kevinherring kevinherring is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
kevinherring is just starting out
Default

Can you ping the VM or each other using only the machine name?

I assume all machines are sitting on the same local network at home or something?

The MyTimeCapsule icon appears in your Finder side bar right?

Does the 'other' client machine appear on each client machine (i.e. macbook on hackintosh and hackintosh on macbook)

Have you checked in the log files for TM on either client machines? You should be able to use the Console to view them and filter on TM (I forget the exact process and am not in front of OS X right now).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:13 AM.

Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  315
L&LD  159
thelonelycode...  143
stevech  141
azazel1024  103
KGB7  64
Adamm  63
TeHashX  59
jim769  56
speedingcheet...  56
RMerlin  4368
stevech  270
ryzhov_al  199
TeHashX  191
RogerSC  164
L&LD  163
joegreat  104
jlake  98
PrivateJoker  93
sinshiva  85
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Beta Version...  16979
Old ASUS...  16042
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  15244
Old 'Heartbleed'...  12160
Old Potential...  7507
Old Groundhog...  5931
Old Asus-Merlin...  5777
Old Linksys...  4457
Old Linksys...  4314
Old [TUTORIAL]...  2653
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  143
Old Beta Version...  112
Old Linksys...  104
Old Potential...  98
Old ASUS...  93
Old Groundhog...  49
Old Asus router...  43
Old [TUTORIAL]...  39
Old Asus-Merlin...  35
Old 'Heartbleed'...  33



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.