SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > ASUS N Routers & Adapters

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #81  
Old 01-12-2012, 12:34 PM
sirozha sirozha is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
sirozha is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tombodett View Post
Try
http://192.168.1.1/Advanced_WAN_Content.asp
You are correct. If you can get to any of the menus past the wizard it will let you change the language. Then you need to go to administration I think and there will be 2 radio buttons to select between router and access point mode. On mine, neither were selected since I had not completed the wizard. After you choose router mode from there, it will get you back to like a 3 step wizard and get it working.
Thanks for this link. There's a way to get out of the Setup Wizard. As you connect to the router and get the Setup Wizard, click on the AP Mode button, then get to the page where you are requested to enter the LAN IP information or to receive the LAN IP automatically, and instead of entering the LAN IP information, click on the Home button in the upper right corner. Then you will get a message prompting you to configure wireless settings before proceeding. At this point, you HAVE to configure wireless settings, so you can just put anything as the PSK password for the 2.4 GHz band and apply. You will be taken to another page, which is completely broken - it displays only partially (not from the very top), and nothing works on that page. The good news is that this page is not part of the Setup Wizard; therefore, at this point, you have exited the Setup Wizard and have entered the regular configuration mode. It is at this point that I will try to paste the the URL for the page where the GUI language can be changed from English to another language. My hope is that by doing so, I can change the GUI language to another one and then proceed with setting up RT-N66U as a router or an access point based on individual requirements. I will be happy with the Chinese GUI at this point (which I speak none of) because even the Chinese GUI will be more helpful than the English one.

I'm working late tonight, so I will have to try this tomorrow night to see if this will work.

Last edited by sirozha; 01-12-2012 at 12:43 PM.
  #82  
Old 01-12-2012, 12:41 PM
Geraner Geraner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Posts: 78
Thanks: 21
Thanked 44 Times in 21 Posts
Geraner is just starting out
Send a message via MSN to Geraner
Default Review after two weeks using the RT-N66U

Now I had the RT-N66U for about two weeks. Tomorrow is the last day I could return the router to the shop where I bought it and get my money back. (possibility to test a product you bought for 14 days)

For the first, I have many devices connected to my home network, mostly wireless.

Connected to the 2.4 GHz Network
  • Nokia N8
  • Samsung Galaxy S2
  • D-Link DCS-930L Wireless Network Camera
Connected to the 5 GHz Network
  • My own Sony Vaio laptop mainly used for web surfing
  • My wifes Sony Vaio laptop mainly used for web surfing and a lot of video streaming via HULU and other video streaming services. She is using StrongVPN to get an USA ip-address.
  • D-Link DAP-1522 Access Point set up as Bridge
To the DAP-1522 I have connected:
  • Western Digital TV Live Media Player (mostly used for streaming internet radio via Tunein
  • LG BlueRay Home Cinema System (often used for watching Youtube videos because it's faster then my WD Digital TV Live)
Connected via LAN Cable
  • Netgear Ready NAS for file and printer sharing within my LAN. FTP used as well to access and share some files with friends via the internet.
  • Desktop PC used for online gaming (mainly BF3)
So in total I have 10 devices connected to my ASUS RT-N66U.
The data volume used via the internet connection is in average 6 GB a day (download). Mainly due to video streaming through my wife's laptop.

Also I'm having a 100/100 Mbit/s internet connection here in Sweden.

Positive experiences
  • Wireless speed about 15-20 Mbit/s faster than with my previous D-Link DIR-825
  • Wireless signal about 5-10 RSSI stronger than with the DIR-825. (testing with inSSIDer)
  • Rock solid router. No rebooting or dropped connections.
  • QoS default settings are very good. No lag while playing BF3, streaming video and streaming internet radio at the same time.
  • File share via LAN network (Samba) fast and without any problems
  • Port forwarding working as it should once set up. (used for ftp-access to my NAS)

Negative experiences
  • QoS custom settings not possible to adjust the way I want. (bug)
  • English GUI totally messed up. (Bug) Lucky me I got have the Swedish version by default. Setting up the router there is no problem.
  • Uplink speed a about 5-10 Mbit/s slow then with my old DIR-825 or when having the computer directly connected to the internet.
  • Parental control not working. Got still access to the internet even when the setting where not to allow internet access.
  • ASUS Support has since 10 days not answered on my Bugreport I sent in via vip.asus.com
  • Insufficient / lacking knowledge of QoS and how settings should work while having phone contact with the ASUS support here in Sweden.

So tomorrow I have to decide whether I'll keep the router or whether I return it where I bought it.
I have already decided to keep the router because it is rock solid once set up and has a great wireless speed.
I hope ASUS support is fist of all fixing the GUI and QoS settings bugs as soon as possible (parental control included), and second improving their response time on requests submitted through their official support channal vip.asus.com.

P.S. my complaints has been fixed with the firmware update version 3.0.0.3.90 released the date after me posting this post.
__________________
ASUS RT-AC66U HW: A2 Firmware: 3.0.0.4.270.24_BETA3 Merlin_build
ASUS RT-N66U HW: B1 Firmware: Tomato Shibby 1.28.0000 MIPSR2-100 K26 USB AIO-64K
D-Link DIR-825 HW: B1 Firmware: OpenWRT Backfire 10.03.1
D-Link DAP-1522 HW: A1 Firmware: V 1.40

Last edited by Geraner; 01-13-2012 at 04:43 PM. Reason: Added P.S. Note
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Geraner For This Useful Post:
  #83  
Old 01-12-2012, 02:33 PM
phila phila is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
phila is just starting out
Default If anybody is interested

http://www.seaboom.com/scripts/produ...-N66U&REFID=FR

they have 20 in stock,but actually I think they drop ship from ASUS. I got mine in 3 days in California.
  #84  
Old 01-12-2012, 06:02 PM
Arty50 Arty50 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Arty50 is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geraner View Post
I was only doing about 2 tests each time and wrote down the fastest result.
Cool! Thanks!
  #85  
Old 01-12-2012, 06:55 PM
sirozha sirozha is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
sirozha is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sirozha View Post
Thanks for this link. There's a way to get out of the Setup Wizard. As you connect to the router and get the Setup Wizard, click on the AP Mode button, then get to the page where you are requested to enter the LAN IP information or to receive the LAN IP automatically, and instead of entering the LAN IP information, click on the Home button in the upper right corner. Then you will get a message prompting you to configure wireless settings before proceeding. At this point, you HAVE to configure wireless settings, so you can just put anything as the PSK password for the 2.4 GHz band and apply. You will be taken to another page, which is completely broken - it displays only partially (not from the very top), and nothing works on that page. The good news is that this page is not part of the Setup Wizard; therefore, at this point, you have exited the Setup Wizard and have entered the regular configuration mode. It is at this point that I will try to paste the the URL for the page where the GUI language can be changed from English to another language. My hope is that by doing so, I can change the GUI language to another one and then proceed with setting up RT-N66U as a router or an access point based on individual requirements. I will be happy with the Chinese GUI at this point (which I speak none of) because even the Chinese GUI will be more helpful than the English one.

I'm working late tonight, so I will have to try this tomorrow night to see if this will work.
I was able to get into the actual configuration GUI by following the procedure I described above and then pasting this link into the address box in my browser:
http://192.168.1.1/Advanced_WAN_Content.asp

Even though at this point, you can switch between different pages in the English configuration GUI and all pages display correctly, none of the settings you try to apply take. In order to be able to configure RT-N66U, you must switch the configuration GUI language from English to another language.

After I switched to another language (Russian in my case), everything became a smooth sailing. In fact, it only took a few minutes to configure RT-N66U, and all of my devices have now reconnected from Cisco 1131 to RT-N66U. I can immediately see a huge improvement in speed. I am posting this over my newly installed RT-N66U.

In order to switch the language, locate the drop down box in the upper right corner of any screen in the configuration GUI and select the language you want. As soon as the language is changed from English, every menu on every page starts magically working. There have been reports here of both German and Swedish working fine. I can confirm that Russian works fine as well - I was able to configure my RT-N66U, using the Russian language configuration GUI.

P.S. After having played with some settings in the RT-N66U, I am seeing that some (non-essential) settings are not quite working right. For example, I cannot change the secondary DNS address in the RT-N66U once it has been applied. It appears that Google Chrome for Mac works better with the Russian language GUI than Safari does. Another benefit of Google Chrome is that if you change the configuration GUI to another language (e.g. Russian), Google Chrome pops up a message below the browser address field suggesting to translate the page into English. So, even though your RT-N66U is using Russian as its configuration GUI, you can translate each configuration GUI page by clicking on the “Translate” button on that pop-up message. You have to do it again and again for each page of the configuration GUI you change to, but if you can’t read any of the languages that RT-N66U has a GUI for (besides English), you can still use this Google Chrome feature to configure your router in English.

Last edited by sirozha; 01-12-2012 at 08:24 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to sirozha For This Useful Post:
  #86  
Old 01-12-2012, 09:40 PM
small_law small_law is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
small_law is just starting out
Default

Thanks to the advice found here, I also got it to save settings by changing the language via a pull-down menu that's on every setup page. Aside from enabling security, I'm not going to mess around with it much more tonight. In my completely unscientific testing, I do notice stronger signals for both bands with the n66 compared to what my e3000 was giving me. The n66 is in the same place my e3000 was, elevated on a shelf on a wall in the center of my apartment. I won't be returning it, but I do hope they fix the firmware soon.
  #87  
Old 01-12-2012, 11:29 PM
tombodett tombodett is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
tombodett is just starting out
Default port forwarding

Port forwarding is unreliable for me too.
  #88  
Old 01-13-2012, 02:01 AM
Geraner Geraner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Posts: 78
Thanks: 21
Thanked 44 Times in 21 Posts
Geraner is just starting out
Send a message via MSN to Geraner
Default

I have no problems with the port forwarding. Can access my FTP-server from outside without a problem after setting up the FTP port and passive data ports as defined in the FTP-Server settings.

No problem either to enter two alternative DNS server addresses in the GUI. I'm using Norton DNS (A-Security) which uses the following DNS server:
Preferred DNS: 198.153.192.40
Alternate DNS: 198.153.194.40
__________________
ASUS RT-AC66U HW: A2 Firmware: 3.0.0.4.270.24_BETA3 Merlin_build
ASUS RT-N66U HW: B1 Firmware: Tomato Shibby 1.28.0000 MIPSR2-100 K26 USB AIO-64K
D-Link DIR-825 HW: B1 Firmware: OpenWRT Backfire 10.03.1
D-Link DAP-1522 HW: A1 Firmware: V 1.40
  #89  
Old 01-13-2012, 07:15 AM
Geraner Geraner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Posts: 78
Thanks: 21
Thanked 44 Times in 21 Posts
Geraner is just starting out
Send a message via MSN to Geraner
Default New firmware 3.0.0.3.90 released

ASUS just released a new firmware for the RT-N66U.
Quote:
ASUS RT-N66U B1 Firmware version 3.0.0.3.90
Fixed:
1. PCI reinit issue
2. Javascript error in Danish
3. Javascript error in English
4. Media Server can't scan file when plugging in USB disk
5. User get error PPPoE status sometimes
6. User can't connect to some websites sometimes(related to TCPMSS)
7. User can't connect to FTP from Internet after enabling it(but reboot can)
8. Plug/Unplug USB Printer Issues
9. Russia Dual WAN bug: domain name resolve for both static/DHCP IP
10.UI: Internet Status Report(included WPS-PSK setting problem)
11.Don't run DHCP in Unify/PPPoE environment
12.Traffic monitory report in Unify environment
13.HP Destjet J310a IOT Issue
http://support.asus.com/Download.asp...B1%29&p=11&s=2

Findings after upgrading my RT-N66U with this firmware:
  • Most important the English GUI is now working normally
  • QoS Bug is fixed. Now it is possible to set up one computer with priority "high" and a second for priority "highest".
  • Parental Control is now working. They changed the settings form block to allow. So now you just mark the times where you allow your kids to use the internet and leave the other times open. There is no own error message from ASUS shown when trying to access the internet at a blocked time schedule. It's just not possible to go to any web page.

Well done ASUS!!
BTW, all settings where kept after upgrading the firmware. No need to reconfigure the whole router.
__________________
ASUS RT-AC66U HW: A2 Firmware: 3.0.0.4.270.24_BETA3 Merlin_build
ASUS RT-N66U HW: B1 Firmware: Tomato Shibby 1.28.0000 MIPSR2-100 K26 USB AIO-64K
D-Link DIR-825 HW: B1 Firmware: OpenWRT Backfire 10.03.1
D-Link DAP-1522 HW: A1 Firmware: V 1.40

Last edited by Geraner; 01-13-2012 at 08:17 AM. Reason: Added experiences after firmware upgrade
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Geraner For This Useful Post:
  #90  
Old 01-13-2012, 08:35 AM
aurelijusb aurelijusb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 33
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
aurelijusb is just starting out
Default

Really nice!
Waiting for more updates from other users. If this router will have no bugs, good performance, then i will buy it instead of Linksys E4200.
Closed Thread

Tags
asus rt-n66u

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:17 AM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  363
john9527  150
azazel1024  129
stevech  114
htismaqe  104
sfx2000  78
L&LD  76
TonyH  68
AndreyPopov  54
ColinTaylor  52
RMerlin  6024
john9527  377
stevech  350
ryzhov_al  278
TeHashX  233
L&LD  232
RogerSC  199
sinshiva  147
sfx2000  133
joegreat  126
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Shellshock...  27630
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  14226
Old Simple NAS...  2510
Old Brainstorming...  2300
Old Looking for...  2078
Old RT-AC68P  2053
Old Advice on...  1905
Old RT-AC68U...  1471
Old Asus...  1449
Old Issues...  1370
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  114
Old Advice on...  48
Old Brainstorming...  47
Old Simple NAS...  36
Old Looking for...  35
Old Shellshock...  31
Old Issues...  25
Old Stable...  25
Old WiFi Rates  23
Old RT-AC68U...  22


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.