SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > ASUS N Routers & Adapters

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-16-2010, 06:29 AM
occamsrazor occamsrazor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 80
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
occamsrazor is just starting out
Default Asus RT-N56U Reviewed

Some specs (from what I can gather) on Asus RT-N56U (Ralink, dual-band, 128mb/8mb) and RT-N76U (Broadcom, dual-band, 128mb/32mb):

http://infodepot.wikia.com/wiki/Asus_RT-N56U
http://infodepot.wikia.com/wiki/Asus_RT-N76U
http://www.asus.com/product.aspx?P_ID=ik8J7ZTvg1uktpab
https://secure.wikimedia.org/wikiped...i/Asus_routers
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=508349
http://wl500g.info/showthread.php?t=25043

RT-N76U may make a nice router for 3rd Party firmwares, similar to RT-N16 but with simultaneous dual-band wifi.

No idea what the availability of these is yet, however.... (EDIT: RT-N56U seems to be just becoming available, can't see any sign of the RT-N76U yet...)

Last edited by occamsrazor; 12-16-2010 at 07:06 AM.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to occamsrazor For This Useful Post:
  #2  
Old 01-03-2011, 10:36 AM
johnnyfoofee johnnyfoofee is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: illinois
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
johnnyfoofee is just starting out
Default asus rt-n56u

i have been checking this site for review on this every day.this router has been listed on newegg for 2 weeks and still no reviews there as well.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-03-2011, 05:16 PM
thiggins's Avatar
thiggins thiggins is online now
Mr. Easy
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 9,247
Thanks: 166
Thanked 640 Times in 544 Posts
thiggins is just starting out
Default

Testing has been done and added to Router and Wireless Charts. Review coming.
__________________
Tim Higgins
Managing Editor,SmallNetBuilder.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-04-2011, 06:17 PM
klas klas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 74
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
klas is just starting out
Default

Looks good, but doesn't seem better then Cisco E4200 in 2.4Ghz and 5 Ghz is marginally better, unless I am reading things incorrectly. Are you planning to do review of the new Buffalo dual band router as well?

Last edited by klas; 03-04-2011 at 08:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-04-2011, 08:29 PM
hasseb64 hasseb64 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
hasseb64 is just starting out
Default Energy consumption maybe?

I am amazed that noone cares about energy consumption on these devices. Its on 24/7 and I care for how many watts it draws in idle and in operation.
Any serious hardware reviewer should include it 2011.

Last edited by hasseb64; 03-04-2011 at 08:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-04-2011, 08:55 PM
FoolishBose FoolishBose is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
FoolishBose is just starting out
Default

Thanks for the review am loving mine in terms of its range and speed! Would prefer a more comprehensive menu though, and initial setup was a bit strange.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-04-2011, 10:26 PM
Dr_ARCHer Dr_ARCHer is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 17
Thanks: 13
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Dr_ARCHer is just starting out
Default

Thanks for the review, Tim.

I have the WNDR3700, but it doesn't work with two of my wireless IP cameras with encryption, which all my other routers (DIR-655,andWZR-HP-G300NH). I got the RT-N56U and it worked fine. Over here, I have just moved to fibre broadband, and using two units of RT-N56U, I created a wireless bridge on the 5.0GHz band. The speeds were much faster than either Homeplugs or simply connecting as a wireless client (via Intel 5100AGN) on the 5.0GHz on my laptop. I read that the RT-N56U is 2T3R on the 5.0GHz band, so I'm not sure if the speed is due to this.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-05-2011, 07:45 PM
thiggins's Avatar
thiggins thiggins is online now
Mr. Easy
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 9,247
Thanks: 166
Thanked 640 Times in 544 Posts
thiggins is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hasseb64 View Post
I am amazed that noone cares about energy consumption on these devices. Its on 24/7 and I care for how many watts it draws in idle and in operation.
Any serious hardware reviewer should include it 2011.
All consumer wireless routers draw 5 - 7W. Not worth the bother to measure.
Besides, non-serious reviews are the only kind we do at SmallNetBuilder.
__________________
Tim Higgins
Managing Editor,SmallNetBuilder.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-07-2011, 12:24 AM
klas klas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 74
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
klas is just starting out
Default

Picked one up at Fry's for $120 (after rebate). Just did my basic tests and I am pleased with results, range on 2.4 Ghz seems about the same as E4200, but definitely better on 5 Ghz. Also, it doesn't have the issue I had with E4200 where it would not reconnect my 2 IP cameras if the signals is lost and I was thinking it was an issue with the IP camers. The UI is a bit confusing at first and DHCP reservation setting is not as easy as on E4200, but I can get over that. So, it's time for E4200 to go...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-08-2011, 03:01 PM
woodscomp woodscomp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
woodscomp is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by klas View Post
Picked one up at Fry's for $120 (after rebate). Just did my basic tests and I am pleased with results, range on 2.4 Ghz seems about the same as E4200, but definitely better on 5 Ghz. Also, it doesn't have the issue I had with E4200 where it would not reconnect my 2 IP cameras if the signals is lost and I was thinking it was an issue with the IP camers. The UI is a bit confusing at first and DHCP reservation setting is not as easy as on E4200, but I can get over that. So, it's time for E4200 to go...
I'll give you a dollar for that E4200 Seriously though if your looking to get rid of it send me a PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
rt-n56u

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:44 PM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  399
L&LD  123
azazel1024  118
john9527  98
htismaqe  89
stevech  84
ColinTaylor  76
hggomes  54
sfx2000  51
Anzaia  45
RMerlin  6302
john9527  464
stevech  353
ryzhov_al  290
TeHashX  254
L&LD  245
RogerSC  204
sinshiva  146
sfx2000  136
joegreat  127
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  59569
Old RT-AC68 -...  25909
Old Moderate Nat...  5576
Old ASUS RT-N66U...  5223
Old iOS 8.1...  4304
Old RT-AC87U -...  2905
Old New AC68...  2835
Old RT-AC68P QOS...  2368
Old AC68U,...  2221
Old Ruckus...  1997
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  255
Old RT-AC68 -...  141
Old Moderate Nat...  34
Old iOS 8.1...  33
Old RT-AC87U -...  26
Old How to flash...  24
Old RT-AC68P QOS...  24
Old Linksys...  21
Old Help Plz:...  21
Old NAS...  20


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.