SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > Wireless Article Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #61  
Old 09-18-2009, 08:46 AM
thiggins's Avatar
thiggins thiggins is offline
Mr. Easy
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 9,177
Thanks: 163
Thanked 627 Times in 532 Posts
thiggins is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jalyst View Post
Cisco is well overdue to release a revised (610n v2?) competitor to this.
Will be interesting to see how it compares...
As discussed on this thread, which I know you have read, jalyst, the 610 V2 is a cost reduction version. I would be very surprised if there were a peformance improvement.

Give the "I hope the 610n v2 is better" theme a rest, willya?
__________________
Tim Higgins
Managing Editor,SmallNetBuilder.com
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 09-18-2009, 09:05 AM
jalyst jalyst is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 201
Thanks: 99
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
jalyst is just starting out
Wink

There's no need to be antagonistic...

If you look at the timing of the post you've just addressed & my one in the thread you cite...
You'll note that i came to the realisation after the one in this thread that the improvement will be marginal at best.

And irrespective of it being purely a cost reduction I've no doubt most people would be curious about how well it operates.
But whether it gets reviewed or not is of course up to you, as you're the only game in town... ;-)

Last edited by jalyst; 09-18-2009 at 09:07 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 09-18-2009, 03:23 PM
Delekhan Delekhan is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Delekhan is just starting out
Default

Good evening (at least over here in Germany )

I bought the WNDR3700 two days ago and so far it is performing great with one exception - the web interface. It is the most crappy I have seen on a router.

Next step at your own risk!

So what to do? Take it apart and see what you can do. There are six TX9 screws of which four are hidden behind rubber feet. Screw them out and get to the PCB. There is a JP1 connector right next to the Atheros Core - the serial console.

Here is a pinout in case you need it:
1. Vcc
2. TxD
3. RxD
4. Gnd

WARNING: TTL level serial port! DO NOT use a normal serial cable!

What do we see? OpenWRT! I was surprised to see it since Vendors usually have their own Linux bundled together. Having OpenWRT should make it easier to get DD-WRT or something else running on the machine.

I have attached a bootlog in case somebody is interested. Feel free to distribute it in the *WRT forums or somewhere else.

-- Markus
Attached Files
File Type: txt bootlog.txt (16.0 KB, 52 views)
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 09-18-2009, 03:40 PM
thiggins's Avatar
thiggins thiggins is offline
Mr. Easy
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 9,177
Thanks: 163
Thanked 627 Times in 532 Posts
thiggins is just starting out
Default

Very interesting. Thanks for the post!
__________________
Tim Higgins
Managing Editor,SmallNetBuilder.com
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 09-18-2009, 05:14 PM
bluegrass bluegrass is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
bluegrass is just starting out
Default

Awesome find! It won't be long now......
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 09-19-2009, 12:01 AM
jalyst jalyst is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 201
Thanks: 99
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
jalyst is just starting out
Default

Yeah I was wondering how sparse/limited the web interface would be compared to your typical Linksys one (which is nothing special anyway).
You serious? OMG how lazy are vendors getting nowadays! This makes things a whole lot more interesting, thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Delekhan View Post
Good evening (at least over here in Germany )

I bought the WNDR3700 two days ago and so far it is performing great with one exception - the web interface. It is the most crappy I have seen on a router.

Next step at your own risk!

So what to do? Take it apart and see what you can do. There are six TX9 screws of which four are hidden behind rubber feet. Screw them out and get to the PCB. There is a JP1 connector right next to the Atheros Core - the serial console.

Here is a pinout in case you need it:
1. Vcc
2. TxD
3. RxD
4. Gnd

WARNING: TTL level serial port! DO NOT use a normal serial cable!

What do we see? OpenWRT! I was surprised to see it since Vendors usually have their own Linux bundled together. Having OpenWRT should make it easier to get DD-WRT or something else running on the machine.

I have attached a bootlog in case somebody is interested. Feel free to distribute it in the *WRT forums or somewhere else.

-- Markus
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 09-19-2009, 10:35 AM
Nivk Nivk is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Nivk is just starting out
Default

I have bought this router for 110 just 2 days ago. It is performing better then my wrt610n v1 in all locations so far, even in locations where I was wondering why I paid 150 for the Cisco.
Just wondering since I can't find it anywhere, is there a way to only let it accept wireless N devices? If I set it to "up to 300mbps" I can still connect with G devices..
I have to agree with what was said earlier the web interface isn't really anything to write home about.
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 09-19-2009, 12:24 PM
thiggins's Avatar
thiggins thiggins is offline
Mr. Easy
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 9,177
Thanks: 163
Thanked 627 Times in 532 Posts
thiggins is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nivk View Post
Just wondering since I can't find it anywhere, is there a way to only let it accept wireless N devices? If I set it to "up to 300mbps" I can still connect with G devices..
There is no N only mode.
__________________
Tim Higgins
Managing Editor,SmallNetBuilder.com
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 09-19-2009, 08:26 PM
john4200 john4200 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
john4200 is just starting out
Default incompatibility with Windows Vista?

I have a setup that is nearly identical to yours, with the WNDR3700, an Intel 5300 wifi half miniPCIe card in a Dell laptop (Studio 1737), but I am running Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit, and you said you were running WinXP SP3.

I have the same router firmware as you specify in the article. I have the same Intel 5300 driver version.

I have set the Netgear WNDR3700 up to use WPA2-PSK [AES] for both 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz bands. I triple-checked this, it is definitely WPA2-PSK [AES]. I also have both bands set "Up to 300 Mbps" and I selected channel 01 for 2.4 Ghz and channel 36 for 5 GHz, as you did in the article.

The problem is that I can only connect at 54 Mbps in either the 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz bands (I select the SSID of the 5 GHz band, connect, get 54 Mbps, disconnect, select the SSID of the 2.4 GHz band, connect, get only 54 Mbps). I am only 10 feet away from the router, and the signal strength is "Excellent". I have tried fiddling with all the settings, and nothing I can do allows the connection to be reported above 54 Mbps as viewed in connection status. The Intel Pro Set utility also shows only up to 54 Mbps.

If that is not strange enough, I tried a TrendNet TEW-672GR configured to run at 5 GHz (it cannot do 2.4 / 5 GHz simultaneously, only one at a time) "green-field" and I immediately connected at 300 Mbps.

The only sense I can make of all of this is that the Intel 5300 Vista driver does not handshake properly with the Netgear WNDR3700, but the Intel 5300 XP driver is fine. Also, the Intel 5300 Vista driver seems to handshake fine with the TrendNet TEW-672GR in 5 GHz green-field mode.

Last edited by john4200; 09-19-2009 at 09:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 09-19-2009, 09:31 PM
dkyeager dkyeager is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
dkyeager is just starting out
Default

I did order 2 of the wndr3700 and 1 wnda3100. Unfortunately they shipped the wnda3100 version 1 which could be incompatible with the wndr3700 (see http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=41842 ).

The other side of this story could be the improvements in wnda3100v2. Assuming my V1 was not just flakly, my site work showed wnda3100v2 sees other networks as having 15-20% greater signal strength and it also would select the 5ghz band in a more crowded 2.4ghz environment (same SSID). Where no other channels were present, it picked the 2.4ghz. v1 always picked 2.4ghz. I wonder if the wndr3300 would see improvements with the wnd13100v2. Or put another way, which wireless N dual band adapter provides the best performance with the least incompatibilty issues? And does that affect router selection?

PS: Minor cons: Cat 5 patch cable (may be techically correct given it is only 3 feet, but cat 6 would have been better marketing). The lights can be hard to see when the unit is wall mounted. The power cable into the wndr3700 also seems to easily disconnect (start to fall out).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:34 PM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  353
john9527  150
azazel1024  132
L&LD  127
stevech  120
htismaqe  97
sfx2000  75
TonyH  68
ChristineBCW  65
AndreyPopov  60
RMerlin  6011
john9527  373
stevech  349
ryzhov_al  277
TeHashX  232
L&LD  230
RogerSC  199
sinshiva  147
sfx2000  133
joegreat  126
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Shellshock...  27357
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  7688
Old Antenna...  3805
Old Asus...  3426
Old Simple NAS...  2340
Old Brainstorming...  2131
Old Looking for...  1883
Old RT-AC68P  1725
Old New Router:...  1566
Old RT-AC68U...  1313
Old Antenna...  73
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  58
Old Brainstorming...  47
Old Advice on...  43
Old Simple NAS...  36
Old Looking for...  35
Old Shellshock...  31
Old Asus...  29
Old WiFi Rates  23
Old RT-AC68U...  22


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.